Fall 2016 Television Preview: Thursday

M: Remember when Thursday nights were the hands-down dominant TV night? Well, now there’s not a lot that even looks interesting to me here.

E: And I’m sure that’s nothing to do with the fact that it’s a soap-heavy night.

M: There have been a lot of factors going into that (Shonda *bleeping* Rhimes, shows that ran their course and ended, DVR’s, the advent of Thursday Night Football, etc), but what’s left is a slate of shows most of which are either past their prime (Grey’s, Supernatural), never had a prime (How To Get Away With Murder, Legends of Tomorrow, Mom) or are new shows the nets are hoping will become the next big thing (Pitch, Pure Genius, Great Indoors, Good Place). There are still a few big shows like Big Bang, for example, but that’s not even on Thursdays until mid-fall.

E: Several other popular shows have delayed their premieres until 2017: Scandal will return after star Kerry Washington’s maternity leave, and Bones has 12 episodes to finish up the series.  So we’re not covering them.

C: And we already discussed Big Bang. In case you need to catch up, here are the links to the previews of Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.

E: Also, if you see a show in blue that means it’s new this season, and a red asterisk (*) mean one of us will be watching.

8:00pm

Grey’s Anatomy (September 22nd), ABC

M: As mentioned in Wednesday’s preview, this is the prime example of shows I forget are still on. And of shows that shouldn’t be. Of course, I’ve hated it since day one, so I might not be the best person to comment.

C: Everyone, here is your yearly reminder.

E: I loved it from day one, but they lost me long ago.  I barely recognize the cast, there are so few of the originals left.  What’s new?  Jack and April parent through their divorce (which makes me sad, even though I never watched while they were a couple), Arizona starts dating now that Callie has left the show, Alex and Jo face a rocky road to rehabilitating their relationship now her ex-husband is in the picture, and Meredith and yet another sister end up jonesing for the same guy.

M: That’s original.

The Big Bang Theory (September 19th on Mondays, October 27th on Thursdays), CBS**

E: Once Thursday night football ends in late October, America’s favorite sitcom returns to its regular night.  Or at least, my favorite sitcom.  Or at least, my only sitcom…

M: Which we already discussed in Monday’s preview, since it starts the season there.

E: Started the season already, in fact, with a really nice return.

Legends of Tomorrow (October 13th), the CW

E: I wanted to like this show so much!

M: Same here. As we watch The Flash as a family, we decided to watch this together, too. After about 7-8 episodes my 13 year old son is the only one who stuck with it.

C: Since I’m seasons behind on The Flash and Arrow, I haven’t gotten to the point where this spins off yet, but I did hope to watch and enjoy it someday, so sad to hear it’s disappointing.

E: I love Arthur Darvil and Alias’s Vincent Garber.  Robby Ammell and the Prison Break duo were bonuses.  But lots of the other actors are lame, and the whole plot?  Ugh. Blah.  Perhaps this year’s plot – which revolves around the Justice Society of America and the Legion of Doom — will bear more fruit.

M: Agreed, it was the plot, and the dialog, that did me in. I love most of the cast.

Rosewood (September 22nd), FOX

E: In this sophomore season, pathologist for hire Rosewood (the wonderful Morris Chestnut) has a new boss, Eddie Cibrian, and will eventually have a new love interest.  Once they figure out who’s going to play her. I generally think Chestnut is charming, but the show, not so much. Maybe I just can’t get over the whole private pathology lab thing.

Superstore (September 22nd), NBC

M: I’ve never watched this sitcom starring Ugly Betty‘s Amerigo Vespucci (America Ferrera, whatever), but the commercials have at times cracked me up. Honestly, to relate everything back to things I like, it looks like someone watched Chuck, and said “let’s take out the main characters and all the spy stuff, and just make a show about the BuyMore.” Which, well, should work. I might pick this one up.

C: More like the store next door in Chuck. What was it, the LargeMart?

M: The LargeMart, yes.

E: Thanks, C. Mr. E and I watched a few episodes, and it really is pretty funny.  I can’t remember why we stopped, even — they might have changed time slots or something.  And C’s right, it’s not the BuyMore (the iconic big box electronics store from Chuck) — it’s definitely pseudo-Walmart the LargeMart.  Nobody’s going to fix your computer, but they might sell you a plastic lawn chair, some cereal and generic sneakers.  There’s more existential and economic despair, with similarly wacky management.

M: I meant more the employees/characters, but if you guys want to take it THAT literally, go ahead. However, I will ask, more existential and economic despair than Jeff and Lester? I find that hard to believe.

E: Because their despair is more real.  Because Jeff and Lester at least had skills.  There’s a sad clown aspect to Superstore, a “we laugh so we don’t cry” quality.  This season will focus on the strike Ferrera’s character, supervisor Amy, began at the end of last season.  It’ll also touch on a host of topical topics: transgender bathrooms, illegal immigration, and gun rights.  They do sell guns at Walmart after all…

8:30

The Great Indoors (October 27th), CBS*

M: Joel McHale’s new show about an outdoorsman (and who’s more outdoorsman-y than McHale… other than everyone?) being brought to the indoor world to save his magazine from the millennials (including Superbad‘s Christopher Minz-Plasse) that are running it.

C: Snort. Accurate point about McHale.

M: We siblings quibbled greatly about this one about a month ago when I found an article about it, so rather than rehashing, here you go — a genuine look at our old chat text!

E: That looks awful, M. And the article annoys me, because it assumes that if you don’t laugh at the unfunny preview, it must be because you’re a too-sensitive Millennial who’s too trigger happy to laugh.  1. Low hanging fruit. 2. Cardboard characters. 3. Laugh track.  4. Total predictability. Which is to say, SITCOM! In the worst possible way.

M: WHAT!?!?! The queen of sitcom-hate doesn’t like the look of a sitcom? NO WAY! I think it looks hilarious. And you say low hanging fruit, but who’s done a show mocking both minerals AND people making fun of millennials at the same time? Plus, the bear attack line (“What do you do if a bear attacks.” “You die. No, really, you die.”) was really funny, and it has Joel McHale and Stephen Frye.

E: Well, Stephen Frye is a plus. But Joel McHale seems like he’s just in soulless characterless snark mode; he can go either way for me, and here he seems like more of a detriment. And by low hanging fruit, I mean that the show sets it up that half the characters are morons. That’s just not interesting to me. I don’t care that its making fun of millennials. It just has to be smart about it to be funny. The preview is one note. And dumb.

M: This all comes from your sitcom bias. I think you’re missing that it appears to be making fun of both sides, millennials and those who mock them. As for it being one note, you’re looking at a preview of a show that’s got 21 minutes in the books right now. How many notes are you expecting?

E: More than one. You think it’s funny, that’s fine. Hey, you convinced me on Big Bang. That’s funny, and it’s not just the low hanging fruit/ mocking of nerds that I thought it was based on the premise. But there’s a difference between good and bad sitcoms, and you saying it’s my bias isn’t going to make those jokes clever.

M: You dismissed Big Bang in exactly the same way you’re dismissing this, and it took years and one of the jokes most suited to your sense of humor for you to give it a chance. Your bias isn’t going to make those jokes clever, true, but it does prevent you from thinking they are sometimes.

E: And all of that being true doesn’t make these jokes funny. They’re not.

C: Wow, I just got to my messages and found this treat of a convo. Thanks, guys. Specifically, the typo “a show mocking minerals” WAS a treat!

M: Okay, oops, I didn’t even notice the ‘minerals’ typo, that’s pretty awesome.

E: Snort, I didn’t even notice the “minerals” line, either. But I would cheerfully compare most of the characters to rocks. We’d both love your opinion, though, C.

C: In a shocking new development that follows no established trends, I fall somewhere between your two verdicts. 🙂

E: Of course you do.

C: Joel McHale is just playing his Community character and is not all convincing as an outdoorsman (as M pointed out), but he delivers a few funny lines. The supporting characters are undistinguished, but hey, it’s a pilot trailer. And too many of the jokes could be found by googling “top 10 things people dislike about Millennials.” The trophy joke is sooooooooooooooooooo stale, for instance. But again, it’s a pilot. So I wouldn’t assume the show is hopeless, but neither am I queuing up to watch.

E: It looks to me like something that will be canceled quickly, but I will admit the pee joke was funny.

M: See, I agree with just about everything in those comments, with the exception it looking like something that will be cancelled quickly. It looks to me like something that will last at least into the second half of the season, and will survive for a few seasons if it has enough audience to let it find its legs.

E: And to be fair, we only get a line or two from each millennial so they may be more interesting eventually. But it looks like any of the last three unfunny sitcoms they’ve shoehorned Matthew Perry into since Friends.

M: I did like the stereotype nonplussed girl who donned “you’re great, huge fan,” and I liked when the two guys were hanging from ropes and sword fighting with ski poles (though the knot joke was fairly weak).

M: Drones, not donned.

M: Droned. Stupid auto correct!

M: Mineral.

C: Also, nonplussed means agitated or confused — so I guess you mean plussed?

M: Huh, I’ve totally been using that wrong… as so has everyone I’ve heard use it. Looked it up, there’s an “informal” definition that is “not disconcerted; unperturbed” which is at least close to what I thought it meant.

C: To get back to the show, the premise at least has more logical staying-power (as a standard workplace comedy) than Kristen Bell’s new show, sad as I am to say it. It has all the earmarks of a BAM (in case you missed it, that’s a show that would have been “Better As a Movie”), and will get cancelled as soon as the producers belatedly realize that.

M: Speaking of which…

The Good Place (premier September 19th, regular slot September 22nd), NBC*

E: Okay.  I love Kristin Bell.  I want her to make brilliant television and know she can. Let’s just get that out of the way. You know where I’m going with this, right?

M: I know where you’re going, and I’m already there.

C: We’re all there.

E: Because this does not look like it’s going to fulfill my fondest hopes for this brilliant, hilarious actress.

M: It doesn’t look like it will fulfill my weakest, most lowered expectation hopes.

C: It looks like a stinker. Ouch, that pains me so much to say!!

E: The plot: Bell dies and is accidentally sent to the “good place” instead of the bad one where she deserves to be. Apparently Heaven has subdivisions, and this one was built by Architect Ted Danson. Bell ends up in a dream home with her assigned soul mate (!) but because she’s not supposed to be there, it all starts to go wrong. It has a great cast and also looks trite and unfunny, with Bell as an atypical heaven resident, and heaven being boring.

M: Because, you know, eternal, unthinkably great paradise is definitely going to be dull.

C: As a person who believes in the afterlife (like, you know, a significant portion of the world’s population), I’ve always been annoyed by the fact that pop culture representations of Heaven inevitably make it out to be a boring place that only really boring people (a.k.a. people who tried to use their time on earth for good) go. I get that the point of this is to comfort people who assume they won’t be going there, but still: goodness gets terrible press, and that seems wrong.

M: Couldn’t agree more.

E: I might still watch the first episodes because of KB, though; I have them recorded, anyway. What is actually strange about all this is that it’s one of Entertainment Weekly‘s top five new shows.  I don’t know if that means it’s extraordinarily better than the commercials, or that this year’s crop of shows is dreadful.

M: I’d be interested to go back and review their lists for the last five or so years and see what their track record of picking the shows that actually stick is.

E: Well, good shows can get canceled too, but I agree, that’s a worthy exercise.

C: Good idea for a future post!

9:00

Notorious (September 22nd), ABC*

E: Covert Affairs’ Piper Perabo stars as TV news producer, and Graceland’s Daniel Sunjata costars as a controversial lawyer defending a rich client accused of murder. The two collude secretly for ratings and buzz as the news show follows the accused murderer’s case across one season. The tag line? “They don’t make headlines. They control them.”

M: So, it’s based on the actual goings on of pretty much every TV news network?

E: Probably.  It’s firmly in ABC’s Shonda Rimes-brand — female centered, diversely cast soaps about smart, sexy, ambitious high powered people with great jobs and questionable ethics — but there’s something so sunny about Perabo that I feel like she could pull the whole thing off and I’d still like her. And Sunjata, who I first saw as nurse romancing Dr. Bailey on Grey’s Anatomy, has some pretty winning charm as well.

C: “Questionable ethics” seems like a highly charitable overstatement.

M: Bletch. The next Rhimes show I like or even grudgingly respect will be the first.

E: It’s not actually Shonda, but I take your point.

M: Really? But it’s ABC on Thursday…

E: She has a production company, but doesn’t personally produce or write all the shows on Thursday.  Now, I like the lead actors a lot, as I said, but I didn’t consider watching this based on the write ups I’d read. And then I watched the trailer, which is interesting enough to reverse my stance. Now the pilot is set to record on my DVR.

M: Sucker!

E: Could it still be too dark and graceless for me? Absolutely.

M: That’s only a “could?”

E: Obviously, or I wouldn’t consider watching it. Geez.  What sunk How To Get Away With Murder for me wasn’t the actual murder, but the sense that all the young law students wanted to be immoral sharks. Everybody speechifies about why it’s okay for them to selfishly grind other people under their feet. It’s all so depressing, this glamorization of nastiness.

M: Every Rhimes show (personally produced or otherwise) does that, so this fits its time slot. No one has morals, everyone “speechifies” about how right they are to not have morals, and how horrible anyone who has morals is.

E: True, though I think it’s more that they think everyone who isn’t them is a sucker.

M: Fair enough. I feel like this is a contributing factor into who our choices for President are this year. Bletch.

E: That might be taking it a little far, but maybe not — ambition and selfishness are certainly common descriptors of the candidates.

C: And as one of my 18-year-old students said recently (to nods from the others), what’s actually wrong with being a jerk, if you’ve “earned” it by being successful?

E: UGH.

M: *smh*

E: Anyway, I’m hoping this one has some depth to it; if it doesn’t, I won’t be watching for long.

Mom (October 27th), CBS

E: Oh, Mom.  These poor ladies can never seem to make it work, can they?  Anna Faris struggles with the choice of completing her undergraduate degree or taking a faster route to a better career through a real estate license; her daughter turns out not to be making a go of it as a black jack dealer after all.

M: Hmmm. I thought her daughter was more in the elementary school age range. Wait… don’t explain, I don’t care.

E: Thinking about it, I find it weirdly comforting that shows exist where the characters are blackjack dealers and waitresses rather than everyone either ending up as a high end professional like television producer, doctor (medical or philosophical), lawyer, or else some sort of adrenaline rush profession life fire fighter, cop, member of the armed forces, or zombie hunter.

M: What’s wrong with zombie hunter?

E: Absolutely nothing, except maybe they help inspire people to think that that ends always justifies the means (like C’s students).  Probably not as much as the tv lawyers and doctors do, though.

C: I bet they still live in really nice houses/apartments, though.

Supernatural (October 13th), the CW

E: Can you believe this show has been on for twelve years?  The two Winchester brothers could have double doctorates in that time.

M: I can’t believe it’s ONLY been 12 years. It feels like this was on when I was 12.

E: It has a super active fan community, though, and the CW has basically said that the show will go on as long as the stars are willing to go on it.  Anyway, this season Sam and Dean go on the road hunting demons (I know, I know) with their newly resurrected mom, who died in the series pilot.  So that’s definitely going to be new.

Pitch (September 22nd), FOX**

E: The Padres put the first female pitcher in Major League Baseball on the mound in this new series, which will time its premiere to the World Series (airing on, you guessed it, FOX).

M: Actually, it looks like it’s premiering tonight!

C: Huh, that’s a cool premise!

M: I like the concept, and the commercials I’ve seen make it look like an natural progression from the Mo’ne Davis story a couple years ago at the Little League World Series. I really just hope they don’t go down the “none of the guys on the team want her to be there and all act like total jerks” path. In real life, that wouldn’t happen. If a woman can compete on the same level, she’ll not only make it, but be well received by her teammates. Of course, that won’t make for as dramatic TV.

E: I’ve read that they won’t, that they’re aiming for a positive story.

M: Yay! My DVR’s set, so I’ll let you guys know.

E: Oh, mine is too.

C: I think it’s naive to assume she wouldn’t encounter sexism, but I’m sure you’re right that it wouldn’t be across the board. In some ways being the lone superstar might actually be easier on a personal level than if, say, the MLB let in 5 or 10 women across its various teams.

Project Runway (September 15th), Lifetime*

E: I haven’t watched of late, but I’ve been missing Tim Gunn.  (As Jimmy Kimmel pointed out during the Emmy’s, should America feel the need to draft a reality television star into politics, we’d do far better to go with the jaunty college professor with the impressive vocabulary and clear, encouraging vision.  “Nancy Pelosi and Paul Ryan, it’s time to make it work!”)

C: Good point. Why didn’t Tim run??

M: The list of Americans, reality star or otherwise, better for the job of President than our two main choices stands at close to 300 million.

E: So far, this season’s crop of contestants looks smart, diverse and interesting, and refreshingly devoid of irrational divas and fame whores. It’s rather annoying that the only things I want to watch on Thursdays are all on at the same time.  Thank heaven for Lifetime re-airing shows!

C: Rarely heard sentences: “thank heaven for Lifetime.”

M: That might be the first time it’s been said or typed.

Chicago Med (September 22nd), NBC

M: Chicago, part 3. On NBC!

E: You know what, I actually have something to say about this show.  And it’s not the fact that I don’t watch it, even though there are people on it I like (Oliver Platt and Yaya DaCosta to name a few).

M: Well, we all love Oliver Platt.

E: I guess I feel like if they can’t bother to give the show it’s own name, then how can I expect them to give us fully fleshed characters and good writing?  Anyway, I do like the actors, and one of them is about to do something I don’t think we’ve ever seen from her despite decades on TV: S. Epatha Merkerson is getting a love interest. Cool, right?

M: That is a nice surprise!

9:30

Life in Pieces (October 27th), CBS

E: You know me and my *cough* love of sitcoms, but I have to admit, a friend sent me a link to one of these mini-stories and I really enjoyed it.  Although that was mostly because something very similar to that story had happened to me.

M: That, or it starring someone who was once in 2 minutes of an episode of The Good Wife, appear to be the only ways to get you to give sitcoms a chance.

E: Hey, you show me something that’s actually funny, and I’ll laugh.

C: Such open-mindedness! That’d be all well and good if you didn’t refuse to watch our recommendations “because sitcom.”

E: Probably still not watching this either, but I’m not looking at this show in a hostile way.  In second season news, there’s a wedding, the aftermath of a wedding, and a new pregnancy for the characters to deal with.  In news sure to thrill C, Nick Offerman and his real-life wife Megan Mullaly make guest appearances as well.

M: I can’t even tell you how many steps down in my book Nick Offerman took when I found out he was married to Megan Mullaly.

C: Aw, but if you hear him talk about her, they seem to have a pretty sweet relationship in real life.

M: I’ll be very happy for them if they do, I just can’t stomach her “super-sugary mean girl” shtick, which is the only thing I’ve ever seen her do, so it doesn’t feel like she’s acting.

10:00

How to Get Away With Murder (September 22nd), ABC

E: Who can they kill this year?

M: Hopefully everyone, and the show ends. Down with Shonda-land.

E: On tap for this year: quickly solving the murder of Alfred Enoch/Dean Thomas’s father (the Death Eaters with Avada Kedavra?), and lots of awful emotional aftermath from Viola Davis’s miscarriage.

Pure Genius (October 27th), CBS

M: This is such an interesting one for me, since Healthcare IT is the field I’ve spent my entire adult life working in. So, while much of this looks fantastic, and it looks like House without the conflict with hospital administration, I know how much of it is unrealistic and implausible. The challenge for me will be if they can make me suspend my disbelief, because I want to like this, it looks like it could be really good.

E: M hasn’t quite given you the premise of the show yet.  Tech billionaire Augustus Prew buys himself a hospital…

M: …more builds than buys, but continue…

E: …okay, yes, builds himself a hospital to showcase what good can be done by the cream of the technological crop.

M: I like the concept, but a lot of the technology is insanely oversimplified and made to look all gooey and fun and futuristic, and just isn’t in the realm of possibility. Especially when he comments about what can be done without red tape. It’s only been the last 7 years or so that red tape has taken over the industry, before that outside of maybe blood banks there was very little government involvement, at least on the technology side.

C: Huh, that’s interesting to know.

E: I read an interesting article where creator Jason Katims (Parenthood, Friday Night Lights) called it not science fiction, but speculative fiction.  Most of the things they show either exist or are in the pipeline, but they writers have perhaps tweaked the way they’re used, making it all a little easier or smoother or better than it currently is.  It’s Tomorrowland, the hospital!  And it’s a neat idea.

C: Speculative fiction is actually the a-la-mode term for various not-purely-realist genres including science fiction, but okay.

M: I can see that, but they talk about it very differently in the trailer. Honestly, most of what holds back advancements is that you’re dealing with real, actual lives, and when lives literally depend on what you’re coding and creating, you need to be really freaking careful. But I digress.

E: No, I don’t think you do.  I think a ton of what they’re doing is probably illegal; sometimes red tape stops innovation, but properly testing experiments first saves lives.  Look no further than the 60s wonder drug thalidimide (which cured morning sickness only to cause horrific birth defects) to see that some miracles end up causing more problems than they fix.

C: Yeah, that’s a legit point.

M: The show looks to have a good heart and soul. The setup of the billionaire having the genetic markers for some insanely rare disease and that being his motivation is solid, and his line about “even if those are his motives, does it matter if what he creates is helping other people’s lives immensely” highlights that they may be willing to intelligently discuss complex moral issues.

E: And believe me, when I see people I care about suffering from cancer or Alzheimer’s or rare genetic diseases, I definitely wish a benevolent billionaire would swoop in and find them a personalized cure.

M: It reminds me of this meme I saw a while back:

become-batman

E: Ha!  Seriously, we’re waiting, people.  So while part of me is annoyed that it’s so unrealistic, another part thinks, if we can have shows about people living on space ships, why can’t we have one about people getting together to better the human condition?  Why can’t this be our dream and our hope?

C: I was actually just watching Star Trek: The Next Generation re-runs and pondering exactly when that kind of optimism about the future went out of style. Narratives where technology and wealth fix all of humanity’s problems are problematic in their own way, of course, but can still feel like a nice change from shows that just glamorize displays of wealth and greed.

E:  This definitely has a Gene Roddenberry ethos.

M: Dermott Mulrooney stars as the big-time surgeon being wooed, and newcomer Augustus Prew as the billionaire.

Better Things (September 8th), FX

E: Comedienne Pamela Adelon plays a comedienne who has her own show.  So we get to see the embarrassing things that happen to her twice — once in her fake real life, and then again on her fake show.  Awesome.  That has me written all over it.

C: In case our readers have somehow missed this, E hates embarrassment comedy. And I have a very low tolerance for it myself.

M: So say we all. The premise sounds kind of Seinfeld-ish.

E: Definitely.  Produced by Louis C.K., the cast includes three daughters and a variety of love interests, including Lenny Kravitz in Cinna mode.

The Blacklist (September 22nd), NBC

M: This is another show that seems to have taken a dive in popularity. I’m not sure if the ratings reflect it, but when it was new a few years ago I had lots of friends who watched it, loved it, and talked about it non-stop. I haven’t heard anyone talk about it in at least a year.

E: They had to do a lot of rejiggering last year to cover lead actress Megan Boone’s pregnancy – but the numbers must still be pretty good, or they wouldn’t be planning a mid-season spin off about the husband, Tom.  Like Hawaii Five-O, this is another show I couldn’t stomach because of it’s line cross law enforcement techniques.

M: I gave up in season one, when it was clear that, like what happened quickly on Revenge and eventually on Person of Interest, they were going to diverge from the excellent formula of crossing off some baddy on his list each week, and devolve into complicated, boring overarching plot-lines. Why can’t shows stick with what works. We don’t always need big overarching plots!

E: That is definitely a failing with many shows of late, that idea that they all need an overarching mythology or even a seasonal big bad.  This show will be embroiled in Liz’s parentage for the forseeable future.  Is the guy who kidnapped her really her dad?  And what’s going with her mom?  With Red?

Falling Water (October 13th), USA

E: Here’s a high-concept offering about three people in somewhat desperate situations who all share the same dreams.  The trailer is filled with portentous dialogue like: “There is a battle going on for people’s dreams.  And if you can control their dreams, you can control the world.”  It might be twisty and fascinating, but boy, that was a lot of hammy, overblown voice-over.

C: First, oh man yes, that voice-over in the trailer is ludicrous.

M: I’ll readily admit, I’m a sucker for voice-overs, even if the dialog is lousy, like in this one. For example, everyone else seemed to hate it, but I liked Blade Runner better with the voice-over than without it. Back to this, the “from the people who brought you” list did not fill me with excitement.

E: Wait.  The voice over in Blade Runner is awesome and the director’s cut is not nearly as good without it.

M: I’m so glad to hear someone else say that!

E: I love voice overs.  This one is just heinous; all it lacks is an unironic maniacal laugh.  Okay, now you can go back to the show.

C: Okay, I have several additional thoughts. First, helloooooo Inception rip-off weirdly named after a famous house. Second, it’s kind of neat that the main characters seem to be a woman, a black man, and an Asian man (Lizzie Brocheré, Will Yun Lee, David Ajala) .

E: I liked that a lot too.

C: Third, dang is Lizzie Brocheré super anorexic-looking. Yucko.

M: I can’t say that stood out to me, but looking at her now, yeah.

E:  Hmm. I kind of thought she was purposefully unhealthy and haunted looking? Like, we were supposed to look at her and think something was very wrong with her life.  Do you not think that’s true?

M: I didn’t, but it could be. Though, they didn’t do that with the male leads…. speaking of whom, Ajala looks familiar to me but isn’t, and I have to say, I think Will Yun Lee is criminally underrated. I’ve liked his work all the way back to Die Another Day and am glad that he’s getting a show, even if it’s this one.

Leave a Reply

