Fall 2016 Television Preview: Tuesday

M: Welcome to day two of the 2016 Quibbling Siblings Fall TV preview! Tuesdays are a big ratings night for networks, so you can expect to see more heavy hitters than on Monday. Speaking of Monday, if you haven’t read it you can catch the preview here.

C: In addition to those heavy hitters (whatever that exactly means), Tuesday brings more new series to the table than Monday.

E: As always, new shows are listed in blue, and asterisks (*) at the end of the title line mean one of us will be watching.

8:00pm

The Middle (October 11th), ABC

E: I don’t watch this show, though My Movie-Going Friend is a big fan.

M: None of us watch, but we’ve all heard good things, and at this point it’s been on forever. Seriously, this is the start of season 8. This has to be the most under the radar eight season show ever.

E: I do wonder how they keep the family drama going with older kids Axl and Sue off in college. They seem to still be part of the show — Axl’s love life is a large part of the upcoming season — so does that mean they live at home?  Axl’s also going to teach younger brother Brick (now a freshman in high school) how to drive.  I’m sure that’s going to go well.

M: As I’m currently teaching my junior in high school how to drive, I’m wondering if Brick has stayed back a few times. With a name like Brick…

E: That was my first thought too.

NCIS (September 20th), CBS

E: Michael Weatherly’s Tony DiNozzo’s exit leaves a big hole in the NCIS family, which producers are attempting to fill with Wilmer Valderrama and Jennifer Esposito.  I like Esposito, and she’s played a cop well before; I’m more puzzled by Valderrama, who played a cop in last year’s unsuccessful Minority Report…

M: …and in the short-lived but very good Jason Isaacs show Awake

E: …who will be playing a former agent who went deep undercover years ago and didn’t come out.  Is he going to be welcomed into the fold?

C: It sounds like they stole that plot point from last season of Brooklyn Nine-Nine, which is funny considering, well, that show is funny and this one is not.

The Flash (October 4th), the CW***

C: LA LA LA I don’t want spoilers! Why isn’t Season 2 available to stream yet???!?!

M: Oh, C, you need to get caught up.

C: Oh, Netflix, get on the ball and let me!

E: Oh, Barry. What have you wrought?

M: C, stop listening now. Readers, if you haven’t finished season 2, skip down a bit.

E: Yes.  Cover your eyes and scroll. Grieving for his father’s death at the hands of Zoom, Barry spent the last few minutes of the finale changing the past and saving his mother.  He returns to a universe where he has no powers, and where his friends are greatly changed, not necessarily for the best.  This is know in the comics as the Flashpoint storyline and is beloved by fans, but it made me pretty nauseous.  Maybe because it hurts my heart whenever we show up in a universe where Cisco isn’t his ordinary charming self.

M: Yeah, I’m always skeptical when successful shows drastically change their setup, but I’m looking forward to this one, mostly because I was so done with the Zoom plot line by the second half of last season. That needed to be a much shorter arc. Also, open letter to all of Hollywood, you don’t always need a big, season-long bad guy.

E: Yes, even if you’re a comic book adaptation.  I am excited about the advent of Wally West’s Kid Flash.  So there’s definitely that.  We’re also going to be spending more time with the Reverse-Flash, who’ll somehow function as Barry’s conscience (?), a less clearly beneficially addition.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine, FOX*

E: Here’s a show that’s come astoundingly far from where it started.  At the beginning of the season Andy Samberg’s Jake and Andre Braugher’s Holt are living — if you can believe it — in witness protection.  In what seems like it might be a retirement community in Florida.  Holt’s working minimum wage for an overbearing manager, and Jake’s taken up running with Rhea Pearlman.

C: Honestly, I don’t expect this goofy scenario to last. Much like with the switch from Season 1 into Season 2, where Holt and Gina were temporarily transferred, I imagine there will be a few weeks of hi-jinks and then things will return to the status quo as soon as the mobster they’re in hiding from is caught.

M: Comedies can do this with much more ease than dramas can, and that whole scenario sounds about right to me.

E: Apparently the rest of the gang is going to come visit them, which defeats the point of being in witness protection if you ask me.

M: WHAAAAAAAT? Come on, of course the people that you know and love, who could never be followed, can come visit you in witsec. Duh.

C: Good point. Very good point… but it’s the Nine-Nine. They don’t exactly do things by the book. And they stick together. I just love this show 🙂

The Voice (September 20th), NBC

M: We said all we had to say about this yesterday…

E: …which wasn’t much…

M: …just letting you know it’s here.

The Contenders/Frontline’s The Choice (September 20th), PBS

E: For serious, in depth coverage of the presidential election, your best choice is here.  Just saying.

M: If, for some sick reason you want to know more about the two pieces of refuse vying for our nation’s supposed highest office.

E: One of them will be elected whether we hide our heads in the sand or not.

8:30pm

American Housewife (October 11th), ABC

E: Every add I’ve seen for this made me think it was yet another of those shows about the one misfit in Stepford-ized suburbia — in this case, the slightly chubby (but still chic) mom surrounded by toned clones.  I liked it well enough in Suburgatory, but choked on Bravo’s Odd Mom Out, and I feel like this might not be different or interesting enough to hold my attention.

C: None of those shows even got, let alone held, my attention.

M: Likewise. I can’t even stand the ads for Odd Mom Out.

E: Ugh, same here.  They make me cringe every time.

M: Speaking of ads, I haven’t even seen an ad for this, and have no interest in searching them out based on your description.

E: But wait. Then I read what the creator, Sarah Dunn, told Entertainment Weekly of her new show: “My two best friends are both stay-at-home moms, and we have so much fun, and I always wonder, ‘why is this not on television? Are we invisible?’  I’m writing a show about that person and trying to make the truth of her life interesting and alive and funny and important.”  Amen, Sarah Dunn!

C: Um, okay. So a show about a mom feeling left out because other moms seem perfect doesn’t grab you, but someone saying “I wrote this about my friends” does? I mean, who hasn’t said about their friends that their lives would make a good TV show?

M: I think the point is that E, who has spent the better part of the last 12 years as a stay-at-home mom, likes that it’s not making fun of them and is based on two “real” moms, and that that might make it both respectful and good. To me, it just reinforces that E only ever tries to watch the worst sitcoms. However, I did watch the trailer, and there were a couple moments that weren’t awful. The Stalin line, and the dad’s response, in particular, got me to chuckle. Slightly.

E: I like the Stalin line, too (and the conservative son gives me happy Family Ties flashbacks).  And I like Deitrich Bader as the randy husband.

M: Oswald!!! Love to see him getting work.

E: But I didn’t actually say I was going to watch it; just that it looks better than I initially thought.

New Girl (September 20th), FOX*

E: So what’s new about New Girl, C?  Do you still watch it?

C: No, sorry. I just kind of let it trail off, over a season ago.

M: I do. It’s still freaking hilarious…. just, with a little less consistency.

E: Huh.   I did not know that, bro.  It turns out that everyone but Jess is now paired up, yet still living together in the same loft apartment.  I don’t know how this works, when Nick and Jess have broken up, but I guess that’s where the (totally unreasonable) comedy comes from. I mean, unreasonable that they’d both stay, not that living with your ex would create comic situations. In fact, there are actually more people, because Schmidt has married Jess’s friend Cece and she’s moved in. What the what?

C: Sitcom, E. Sitcom. The “sit” part stands for “situation that must be maintained at all costs, no matter how implausible it has become.”

M: Not entirely. Schmidt actually moved out a couple seasons ago, but ended up back.

E: While he’s MARRIED, which makes all the sense in the world.

M: Coach has been in and out. And they did the whole Moonlighting thing with Nick and Jess, which will end up happening again because, well, it’s a sitcom. And because Nick’s new love, the surprisingly not-horrendous Megan Fox, won’t last.

9:00pm

Fresh off the Boat (October 11th), ABC

E: How wacky is this?  In the beginning of the season, the clan travels to Taiwan because another family member has kidnapped their grandma and they’re determined to get her back.  I’ll say it again: what the what?

C: I don’t know, sounds like something that would happen on Jane the Virgin. I’ve heard good things about this series; maybe one of these days I’ll finally check it out.

M: Agreed, I’ve heard some good things, and it doesn’t seem as vile as it did when it premiered.

E: The idea of all this is to highlight the parents feeling at home and the kids feeling adrift; in America, they’re set apart, but when they return to a homeland they’ve never seen, they still feel out of the mainstream.  Like you guys, I’ve heard good things; hopefully this season lives up to last year’s.

Bull (September 20th), CBS

E: So remember how we said that Michael Weatherly left NCIS?

C: I think the world knows it, or at least anyone who saw TV ads last spring.

E: Well, it seems that CBS offered him his own show, playing of all people a fictionalized version of Dr. Phil McGraw.

M: To quote, um, you: what the what?

E: Before he was one of Oprah’s top consultants, before his talk show host, Dr. Phil was one of the country’s top jury consultants.

M: Seriously, what is he a doctor of? Weird-yet-interesting paths to mega-stardom?

E: I’m going to guess psychology.

M: Boring!

E: Considering that both C and her husband and almost all their friends are ph.d.’s, it shouldn’t surprise you that Dr. Phil is probably not a medical doctor.

M: That was never something I considered, actually.

E: The show, of course, follows Weatherly and his team as they figure out what a jury is going to think based on psychology, biography, and gut instinct.

C: Oh delightful, manipulating juries sounds so easy to root for and not at all like a perversion of the best intentions of our justice system.

M: I don’t know, it made for great drama in The Rainmaker (the book, and even the so-so movie). And it’s not “rigging,” because both sides do it….

E: …Well, if both sides are Oprah and the cattle industry, anyway….

M: …and because they’re just guessing at preferences and reading people. There are definitely no guarantees, which is what “rigging” would entail.

E: Fun facts: this show was written produced by Paul Attanasio, who wrote and produced House, and also costars his daughter Annabelle as Cable Mcrory, presumably employed at Dr. Jason Bull’s Trial Analysis Corporation. It also stars Freddy Rodriguez and Geneva Carr.  Super cool casting?  Hamilton‘s Tony-nominated Christopher Jackson costars as Chunk.

C: Chunk? Like… the famous Chunk?

M: Does he do the truffle shuffle?

E: I didn’t even know there was a famous chunk, and I will hazard a guess at no.

M: Seriously, sis, Goonies! I’m so disappointed in you. Let’s move on.

E: It’s not quite as prestigious as playing George Washington in Hamilton, but if the show turns out to be a hit, it might be a smart move. I’m quite curious to see how this one gets reviewed: I like Weatherly from his Dark Angel days, and Jackson’s voice gets played on a daily basis in my house. And while it can’t possibly be as brilliant as what we lost in the past year, I have a pronounced lack of legal shows in my current viewing slate.

C: Aw, poor E, still grieving The Good Wife. Even if you almost couldn’t stand it by the end.

E: Indeed.  I think I’m going to be making a last minute viewing choice on this one.

No Tomorrow (October 4th), The CW

E: What’s a shy, sweet girl (Tori Anderson’s Evie) to do when she hears that the world is probably going to end in an asteroid strike in exactly 8 months and 12 days?  Why, join a charismatic guy (Joshua Sasse’s Xavier) on his quest to check off all the items on his bucket list, of course.  It sounds like the stuff on his bucket list is all pretty adorable: dune buggies, pogo sticks, karaoke.  I’m not sure why it took the end of the world to get someone who’s already outgoing to a karaoke bar, though…

C: That’s an interesting premise, and took a much cuter turn than I was expecting, but it’s hard to imagine how it’s going to be sustained even over 8 months, let alone multiple seasons. We should come up with a term for TV Shows With Concepts That Sound Better As Movies, because I have a feeling that’s going to come up a lot. Something catchier then “TSWCTSBAMs”… maybe just BAMs?

M: HA! Before I even finished reading your comment I thought “what about BAM’s?” I think we have our choice!

E: Seconded.  BAM it is.  You may recognize Sasse as Sir Galavant of the utterly gonzo musical adventure Galavant.  Obviously he’s right at home being wacky and having mad-cap adventures.

M: Ok, Galavant was a lot of fun, and he was good on it. However, I share the apprehension about the concept lasting. Plus, in real life if the Earth was going to be destroyed in 8 months I think two things would happen. First, there would be a lot of people that would start working really hard to try to find a way to survive (space travel, destroy the asteroid, etc). Second, just about everything else would devolve into chaos. I mean, if you worked as a barista, or in a sewer treatment plant, or pumping gas, or drilling for oil, or as a mega-farmer, would you keep working, or would you start checking off your bucket list?

E: I would imagine you’d start checking off your bucket list, yes, although I would still advocate for the collection of sewage.  Because who wants to spend their last few months of life in a cesspool?

M: Exactly why the workers would stop going to work!

Scream Queens, FOX

E: Speaking of mad cap adventures, check this out — the sorority girls of Scream Queens have been sentenced to life in a mental institution for the murders committed on campus during their tenure.  But a Netflix-type show — clearly based on the podcast Serial — has brought their clear innocence into the public eye, and so they’re released.

C: That’s a pity.

M: Ha!

E: And what happens when justice is served?  Well, the former Dean of Students (Jamie Lee Curtis) wants to make it up to them, so she invites them all into the medical school at the hospital she owns and runs.  Because that’s totally how it all works.

M: As someone who works with hospitals on a daily basis, that seems totally reasonable to me.

E: The girls may be innocent, but as soon as they pull on those pink scrubs, the slashing starts up again.

M: NO WAY!

E: The new guys on this year’s squad are the hot but arrogant surgeon Brock Holt, played by John Stamos…

M: Not by Red Sox utility player Brock Holt? That’s too bad.

E: …and hot but mysterious Dr. Cassidy Cascade (Taylor Lautner, hanging up his wolf-bite for a stethoscope).

M: Cassidy Cascade? Could there be a faker sounding name?

E: Maybe Brock Holt?

M: Even if there weren’t a real Brock Holt, I’d still say Cassidy Cascade is worse.

E: Fair enough.  Keke Palmer returns as the realistically named Zayday, who seems to have gotten into this dubious med school the old fashioned way.  You know, graduating from college, sitting for the MCAT, applying, etc…

C: Sorry but John Stamos stopped qualifying as “hot” a while ago — if he ever did. As for the rest: shudders all around. Nothing about this show sounds even momentarily watchable.

Teen Wolf (November 15th), MTV

E: Arguably the most popular show on MTV (though its numbers didn’t best last spring’s fantasy epic The Shannara Chronicles), Teen Wolf enters its 6th season this year.  In other words, if anyone on this show was a teen when it started, they certainly aren’t anymore.

C: I highly, highly doubt they were. In fact I know most weren’t, because they appear on my new favorite Tumblr, Actual Teen vs. Adult Teen!

M: Ok, that is awesome! However, I just lost about an hour of my life to it.

E: Now, down to the plot of the season, and it’s actually a super cool one which may have come from a conundrum the producers faced when one of the biggest stars on the show,  Dylan O’Brien (who plays side-kick Stiles) had to miss a great deal of the season to finish filming the next Maze Runner installment.  What they figured out is completely intriguing.  The town of Beacon Hills has been beset by Ghost Riders, who not only abduct people but somehow manage to erase all memory and trace of them from the outside world.  Even if the name isn’t original, the concept feels fresh.

C: Not exactly fresh in the realm of supernatural fiction/TV, but a reasonably creative workaround, I’ll give you that.

E: When trying to avoid confusing these Ghost Riders from the classic Marvel hero Ghost Rider, remember that the Teen Wolf villains’ preferred mode of transportation are horses rather than a motorcycle.

C: So they’re Nazgul who like kidnapping batches of sexy 28-year-olds pretending to be teenagers.

M: MTV, ladies and gentlemen!

Good Behavior (November 15th), TNT*

E:  Wondering why this is on the list?  Wondering why I’m considering tuning in?  Five words. Michelle Dockery of Downton Abbey.

C: Okay, you’re onto something there.

M: Yawn. Wake me when we move on to the next show.

E: As for the plot, well, it’s not exactly sedate (not that Lady Mary’s life particularly was) or my usual style: Dockery plays a con artist, drug dealer and thief who wears lots of Alias-like disguises, uses lots of accents, and also listens (or so the trailer suggests) to self-help tapes that affirm being yourself and going after the life you truly want. Does her life of crime make her happy?  (The intense crying jags and self-loathing suggest that it doesn’t.)  Is her behavior “good”  if it pleases her?  It seems like the show could be asking a lot of interesting questions.

M: Everything that you said there that wasn’t “Alias” sounded horrible.

E: Granted, without Michelle Dockery and without all the costume changes (I love me a good disguise) I wouldn’t be interested at all.  A lot of it looks pretty ugly and overwrought.  So I guess we’ll see.

9:30pm

The Real O’Neals (September 27th), ABC

E: The first season was all about son Kenny coming out to his family, and starting his romantic life (having his first kiss, going to Prom with another boy, etc).

C: All about firsts, in other words.

E: Righto.  It’s all new beginnings.

M: Wait, this isn’t a new show? Huh.

E: I think it was a mid-season replacement?  So, last year was about fresh starts. Well, except for his parents getting a divorce, which is kind of the opposite.

M: Were they previously divorced? If not, it’s still a first….

E: Okay, fair enough: as the wise men say, every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.

M: 90’s band Semisonic are the wise men? Cool.

E: The second season, apparently, is about making a real life out of all those changes. I like Martha Plimpton a ton, but I’m generally not drawn to family sitcoms.

M: You could have left out “family.”

E: And I’m bemused by the whole divorce thing.  Not that Catholics don’t get divorced, but I thought a lot of emphasis was placed on her character being devout?

10:00pm

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., ABC**

E: After the Sokovia Accords, SHIELD can come out of hiding.  A new director has been promoted over Agent Coulson (grr), and is played by Jason O’Mara, a good enough actor whose roles and shows never seem to stick; his first task is to send the team out after powered people, which will inevitably lead to trouble with Daisy, who’s run away to stew in her guilt of Lincoln’s sacrifice. Way to waste everything he’s done for you, Daisy!  In true Dark Side fashion, the angrier she gets, the more her powers grow.

M: I like O’Mara, as mentioned yesterday, and like this show, but last season was not their best work. This sounds at least a little better.

E: Eh, I don’t know.  I mistrust O’Mara, and I don’t know if I love Colson having a boss.  I’m still looking forward to it, though. The biggest casting news of the season is that Ghost Rider’s going to show up, played by Gabriel Luna.  Let’s hope that his version will be more successful than Nicholas Cage’s.

M: Low bar.

E: The key to happy television viewing (to quote some more wise me):lower your standards!

NCIS: New Orleans (September 20th), CBS

E: This season’s main plot, if these shows have overarching plots, is that D.C. sends an agent (Vanessa Ferlito) to crack down on the rule-flouting that typifies Dwayne “King” Pride (Scott Bakula) and his NOLA team. Wow. We’ve never seen such a plot on a police-type procedural. Gee, I wonder if the by-the-rulebook overseer will change the lovable local crew and set them on the straight and dispassionate narrow?

M: Readers, you know where our money is.

Atlanta (September 6th) FX

E: I’ve seen a lot of ink spilled about Donald Glover’s passion project, but none of it has really given me … how do I put it?

M: We’re all waiting with baited breath.

E: A strong sense of the show. Writer/director/star Glover took the lessons he learned working on the writing staff of 30 Rock, and decided to make his first show truly original.  It’s about a young man trying to redeem a messed up life by managing his cousin’s growing musical career.  It seems like what’s drawing all the great advance word on the show is the tone, though, but no one seems able (or willing) to pin it down.  And having seen the trailer, I totally know why.  In fact, after watching the trailer what I don’t know is why it’s being billed as a comedy. Glover is probably best know to you two from Community, but I mostly know him as the brilliant and awkward Rick Purnell in The Martian.

M: The steely-eye’d missile man! I loved him in both!

C: Both great roles, though being a main character on Community for four seasons was much more substantive. He’s funny and obviously quite clever behind the scenes. He’s also rumored as likely to play Lando in the upcoming Han Solo prequel. Maybe his star is on the rise…

M: He’s also a stand-up comic, and his star is definitely on the rise, which is good. As for the show, I’m not sure.

E: It looks like a show that takes its time.

M: A quality I tend to really appreciate. Too many shows rush through things, I like shows that let thing develop slowly, or hint at things over a long period of time without giving them away. The first season of Person of Interest did that, hinting at mob boss Elias for about 6 or 7 episodes before actually revealing him in a Usual Suspects style way. Add in that they casting family favorite Enrico Colantoni, and that’s one of my all time favorite TV arcs. Then, as is typical, the studio got impatient and ruined the show. Which will probably happen here, if they don’t just cancel it, like another brilliant-but-slow-paced show I loved, Rubicon.

E: I question whether it’s too artsy for audiences; Terrence Malick is the closest I can come to a similar point of view, and Terrence Malick is more awards bait than he is box office bait.

M: I think it’s more the networks than audiences. They want immediate ratings, and aren’t willing to wait for something that will build a following slowly. FX, however, might.

This is Us (September 20th), NBC**

E: Another highly promoted and anticipated new show, This is Us makes me think of Life in Pieces, only as a drama instead of a comedy.

C: Or Modern Family, same caveat. One of those shows without a premise other than “this family is diverse on more than axis of identity.”

M: It made me think of Mrs M’s beloved Parenthood, only as a drama instead of a drama.

E: I was thinking – and I bet, in a less personal sense, NBC is too – that this could be her replacement for that.

M: That was my thought as soon as I saw a commercial for it. I showed it to her right away.

E: And what was her take?

M: Definitely interested. We’ll be watching.

E: Now, instead of being about one family, it’s about a group of 36-year-olds who share the same birthday, but are in very different points in their lives. (Creator Dan Fogelman was inspired by his social media feeds, where his high school and college classmates are all living out wildly different experiences.)

C: Hrm, as you would not… for some unknown reason… expect?

M: Yes, you would expect that, but that’s just the spark that inspired him to create it. I actually like the look and concept of this.

E: As I said, I’ve seen a ton of commercials for this, but I wasn’t very interested until I started reading more about the concept and the team behind it.  The main characters include a man (Sterling Brown, totally endearing on Sunday after his surprise Emmy win for The People Vs. O.J. Simpson) searching for his birth father, a family expecting triplets (Mandy Moore and Milo Ventimiglia!)…

M: …with a killer beard…

E: …and also a set of fraternal twins comprised of a famous actor (Justin Hartley) who left a successful TV show in a meltdown that’s now a viral sensation and his sister/personal assistant (Chrissy Metz) who struggles to find love and come to terms with her un-Hollywood body type. It promises to be all about the feels, something I can take or leave.  I mean, I love a good cry, but it has to be authentic. The feels have to be earned.

M: Please stop saying “The feels.” You were an English major, for goodness sake!

C: I’ve heard some grumbles on social media about how, as usual, the “solution” to the large female character’s problems appears to be to find a large man.

M: I will say two things to that. One, the scene where they meet in the trailer is great. Two, there are very few large characters, male or female, on TV or in movies, and they are usually paired with each other. The occasional large man with super hot woman show or plot (King of Queens comes to mind) usually takes some heat for that pairing. I am in favor of anything that puts more realistic body types and more realistic-looking people into major roles that are respectful and genuine.

E: The more I look into this, the more I see it has critics singing — something Fogelman is used to, having written the smash Disney musical Tangled, as well as the Pixar classic Cars and the terrific ensemble comedy Crazy Stupid Love (a film whose co-directors are behind the camera here as well).

M: Well, Tangled explains the presence of Moore, who voiced Rapunzel.

E: Also on his resume, M?  The Neighbors.  And (hey, weren’t we just talking about this?) Galavant.  So all of that makes me a lot more curious.

M: Wow, that’s a pretty awesome list. And man, I miss The Neighbors!

Chicago Fire (October 11th), NBC

E: What I don’t know is where This is Us is going after this show returns for its fifth season. What I also don’t know is how this series keeps proliferating and how it’s been around this long.  No that there’s anything wrong with a show about hunky/hot fire fighters; I just feel like these Chicago shows fly under the radar quietly.

C: There are lots of series that people just watch — they don’t create a lot of media buzz because they reliably do the same thing every week, and it’s a thing a fair number of people enjoy.

M: If readers were with us for last year’s previews, they know that we went on a lengthy riff about potential other “Chicago” shows. I still like our joke versions better than the actual shows.

E: Me too. There’s a lot of explosive active set up for the next season, though.  Steven McQueen’s Jimmy (seriously, what is it about this name?) blames Eamonn Walker’s Boden for his brother’s death.  Political consultant Susan (Lauren Stemile) continues to make trouble for Jesse Spencer’s Casey (hey, a House alum!) and his girlfriend Monica Raymund’s Dawson (hey, a Good Wife alum! Granted one of my least favorites…).  And finally, another couple (Taylor Kinney’s Severide and Miranda Rae Mayo’s Stella) make it through an attempted stabbing but feel the traumatic effects long after.

Aftermath (September 27th), SYFY

E:  This is two shows in the same night about the collapse of civilization.  What’s with all the end of days contemplation?  First we got the cheery one (No Tomorrow), and now we have an adventure with more meteor strikes, volcano explosions, earthquakes, solar flares, mass vanishings, dragons, killer plants, and oh yes, demons.  Demon possession, flying demons, demons all around.  The SyFy channel is betting on demons being the next big thing in their story of the end of times as a demon evolution, as seen through the eyes of the Copeland family.

C: Wait, the demons are the protagonists? Did I get that right?

M: That’d certainly be a different twist, even for SyFy.

E: No, no, humans are watching what some of the crew There’s hardcore Marine mom Anne Heche (hey, she lives!), cultural anthropologist dad James Tupper, and angsty teens Julia Sarah Stone, Taylor Hickson and Levi Meaden.  I could be wrong about this, but Heche and even her husband/costar from Men in Trees Tupper are pretty big stars for the SyFy channel, no?

M: Heche yes-ish, Tupper no.

E: I mean, the network’s had miniseries with people I’ve heard of, but I don’t feel like that’s generally the case with their actual series.

C: I guess that’s true, but these are definitely not folks at the peaks of their careers.

E: Anyway, I gotta say, it looks kinda fun.  How long can it stay interesting?  Who knows. But still, the potential for fun is there.

C: At least the demon takeover premise makes it less of a BAM than the other Tuesday night apocalypse series?

This entry was posted in TV.

2 comments on “Fall 2016 Television Preview: Tuesday

  1. PRT says:

    Quick note about Teen Wolf’s Dylan O’Brien: I don’t think he was gone while filming Maze Runner. Last I had heard, he’d been in an accident on the set of Maze Runner, suffered a massive concussion and facial fractures, and was out of filming on all projects over the summer as a result. (Teen Wolf is abysmally bad, but O’Brien is one of the few bright spots. There’s a lot of speculation that his decision to leave at the end of season 6 is what killed the show.)

Leave a Reply

