Golden Globes: The Aftermath

E: Didja have fun?  I did!

So, okay that mostly went according to plan – but neither Globe winning film has a Best Director nod, which handicaps them tremendously in the overall race.  So what did we learn?  Really good question.

First, let me say that I thought Tina Fey and Amy Poehler were wonderful.  And yes, they did veer slightly into Ricky Gervais territory when they told Taylor Swift to stay away from Michael J. Fox’s son.  Ha!  Horrifying, mean, but right on the money.  And then their nod the Zero Dark Thirty controversy: “when it comes to torture, I trust the lady who spent 3 years married to James Cameron.”  You could tell no one was expecting that one.  And “Meryl Streep has the flu, and I hear she’s amazing in it.”  “She steals it, she steals the flu.”  Ha.  Sorry not to see you, Meryl, but that was pretty cute.

Maybe I should have started with a run down of winners and losers.  Of the six acting categories, I correctly predicted five winners – Anne Hathaway, Hugh Jackman, Jennifer Lawrence, Daniel Day-Lewis and Jessica Chastain.  I noted that supporting actor was the most wide open of all the categories, but I incorrectly picked Philip Seymour Hoffman over Christoph Waltz. In fact, Tommy Lee Jones was my alternate, so I wasn’t remotely close to Waltz; you could see that Waltz, who is usually so polished and metaphorical in his language, didn’t expect to win at all either.   I don’t think we’re remotely done with surprises in that race.  Daniel Day-Lewis (who was there with his wife and one of his sons, yes?) has cemented himself as a frontrunner for Oscar.  And how much did you love the collective “aw!” that rippled through the ballroom when he thanked Tony Kushner (passed over for best screenplay). “Every day I have to live without the immeasurable wealth of your language, which reminds me every day of the impoverishment of my own.”  Sigh.  You do pretty nicely with words on your own, Mr. Day-Lewis.

Speaking of speeches, we had some other nice ones.  Anne Hathaway was rather sweet, thanking Sally Field for being a role model of avoiding type casting; the Princess of Genovia felt she owed a debt to the Flying Nun for turning into Norma Rae. Hugh Jackman, it’s a smart move to confess to the entire world that your wife is always right.  I’m so bemused that you rode a bike to your Les Mis audition that I can’t even absorb your story about someone stealing the wheels off your bike, though.  I told you guys Jennifer Lawrence was hilarious and a straight shooter, didn’t I?  Too damn funny. When she thanked Harvey Weinstein for whoever he had to kill to get her up there, in that deadpan voice – and then her brothers, for shaping her character by ruthlessly picking on her (before becoming supportive)?  Wonderful. Also, she looked spectacular in that crimson/orange ballgown.  At first Jessica Chastain (pretty in a light aqua) stumbled a bit with her words, but she picked up steam talking about strong women in Hollywood, giving a stirring, tear-inducing tribute to Kathryn Bigelow.  Both women did themselves a favor with their speeches last night, so I’m not sure we’re any closer to an Oscar winner.  Frankly, I don’t see that we’re going to know until Oscar night (even though one of these girls will have to win out at SAG and BAFTA), because Emmanuelle Riva’s clearly beloved performance presents such a confusing wild card possibility.

I correctly guessed Les Mis as the best Musical or Comedy, but I missed on Quentin Tarantino for screenplay and Argo for director and Motion Picture Drama.  Does this make Tarantino the favorite for the original screenplay?  I can’t say I wasn’t surprised he bested Kushner, but it says little for their Oscar prospects.  I loved that he thanked his writing group for letting him listen through their ears.  And I have to say, I felt really pleased for local boy Ben Affleck.  Especially knowing that he was passed over for Oscar, you can see how utterly thrilled he was, how overwhelmed – that he was enjoying every moment. “I don’t care what the award is,” he said, which is pretty funny because of course he does, “when they put your name next to the names she just read off, it is an exceptional moment in your life.  I truly to God never thought that I would be in the same breath with them.”   (I liked that he thanked his agent for steering him from obscurity to fame and then through the troubling Bennifer time period, although I wonder if that’s awkward to mention with J.Lo in the same room?  Not that he mentioned her by name; she may have been as much a symptom of his confusion as the cause.)  Really really nice.  Also, it was adorable that he had wife Jennifer Garner thank producing buddies George Clooney and Grant Heslov, since he’d forgotten to.  All pretty great.

Miscellaneous moments?  Are Cosette and Marius dating?  Because it kind of looked that way. I liked that in Argo‘s clip, we get to see Alan Arkin talking about the Golden Globes.  (Someone should have practiced reading off the teleprompter with Tony Mendez, though.)  How adorable was Mychael Danna, the composer from Life of Pi, telling his wife that “in a room full of starlets” she was the most beautiful woman there.  And actually, she was pretty gorgeous; love the sari!  I was thrilled that Maggie Smith won, even if she wasn’t there to accept.  Does she ever come to award shows?  I feel like the answer is no.  I loved seeing Nathan Fillion present.  I was expecting Homeland to do as well as it did, but I was astounded to hear that Clare Danes is a perfect four for four in Golden Globe wins.  I wonder if that’s a record?  Also, she’s still wraith-thin; you’d never know she (or Megan Fox, for that matter) just had a baby.  Aziz Ansari hitting up Downton Abbey‘s Michelle Dockery for pot – looking for more of her “biscuits” – was pretty entertaining.  Adele was probably my favorite winner of the night, even though I wanted The Hunger Games to pick up something, somewhere. “Skyfall” is a terrific song, and she was just so endearing, giggling about how this was just a new mum’s night out and she and her bestie having been pissing themselves laughing.  Taylor Swift may have been looking down her perfect little nose, but everyone else was cracking up, including me at home.   But then, I might be easy – the President of the Hollywood Foreign Press made me laugh, too.

Oh, I did really like Will Ferrell and Kristen Wiig pretending they knew what the Best Actress in a Comedy/Musical movies were all about.  Really great.  And then there’s Cecil B. DeMille award winner Jodi Foster, who meandered on with a fake out about coming out that seemed to be wrapped up in an actual coming out, a bit of cursing, a treatise on privacy, and an ode to her (ill?  dying?) mother which reduced many of the women in the room (we got to see Cotillard, Emily Deschanel, Kate Hudson, Anne Hathaway and Kristen Wiig) to tears.

And finally, we have the dresses.  I loved listening to Tina Fey and Amy Poehler (both of whom looked amazing, though I’m probably more awed by Fey’s two dresses – I love her classic Hollywood glam style) grouse about not getting to eat for weeks in order to fit into their dresses.  I loved Clare Danes wild look with the messy hair and all that rock star make up.  Didn’t Kristen Bell look adorable pregnant?  I loved that she got to read out Max Greenfield’s name, even if he didn’t win.  (Plus, I can’t be sorry about Ed Harris, because his incarnation of John McCain was uncanny.)  Even though I’m not sold on t-length for the Globes, Marion Cotillard looked fresh and lovely.  Now, I wouldn’t exactly say I loved her look, but did anyone else mistake Eva Longoria for a Khardashian when she first walked on stage to present?  If I was going to make a list of the dresses I loved, Jennifer Lawrence would certainly make the top three, along with Julianna Margulies (that lace was incredible, not to mention the open back – although on the other hand, the sheer skirt? Maybe I need to take that back) and Lucy Liu in her improbably ballgown made out of baby blue floral curtain fabric.  I don’t even know why that worked (the size of the skirt?  the perfection of the fit?), but it totally did.

So, gosh.  What did you guys think?  What did you like?  And what the hell do you think this means for Oscar?  I’m pleasantly perplexed.

8 comments on “Golden Globes: The Aftermath

  1. M says:

    Let me start off by saying that you putting the star of The Good Wife into your top three best dressed, then immediately criticizing her dress and second guessing your choice is hilarious, and not at all a surprise to anyone who knows that you will defend anyone and anything associated to that show no matter how irrational the cause.

    As for the show, I didn’t see all, but did see most. I think the HFP had crushes on a few specific things, all of which will either have no effect or at best muddy the waters for Oscar. In the no effect category, they clearly loved Homeland, Girls and Game Change, as those won in most categories they were up for.

    As for movies, where they may or may not muddy the waters, the loved Argo and Django. I think their love for Tarrantino and his film will likely have no impact. I think their love for Argo may have well had more to do with it being produced by George Clooney and helmed by Affleck than for its own merits, as the HFP is notoriously enamored of glitzy stars. In the end, I think it’s win will slightly hurt Lincoln, and keep the Oscar race open. The lack of director nods are huge mountains for Les Mis and Argo to climb, but this at least gave them each a sherpa.

    • E says:

      A sherpa? Cute, bro.

      Here’s the problem with Julianna Margulies: I loved what I saw of the dress when she was sitting, which prompted me to write this. I then added the postscript when I saw a full length picture of the dress and was alarmed to find how sheer it was.

    • E says:

      Btw, if you paid attention, you’d know I criticize plenty about The Good Wife (including CBS’s infuriating decision to air a new episode last night). JM is gorgeous, but her clothes award show wardrobe is hit or miss in my eyes. Mostly hit, actually, but I do say when I don’t think a dress does her justice.

      • M says:

        I know that you criticize plenty about what happens within the plot and individual episodes of the show (I have read a surprising number of the reviews, believe it or not, considering I don’t watch the show). My point is that once you leave the fictional world of the show, you support or defend anyone and everyone ever in the slightest way associated with the show, regardless of merit. I’m still thinking I need to scour the episode cast lists to find someone that was once on TGW who also appeared on Flashpoint so I can get you to watch even one episode of that amazing show. However, I digress, this is about the Globes, so back to that….

        I was amused by two posts I saw on Facebook during the show. One was a friend who posted about seeing Rocky and Ivan Drago presenting together. I thought Ahnold looked kind of bad, but not bad enough to be confused for Dolph Lundgren. Ouch. The other was George Takei, posting that he thought “Jodie Foster looked great, but I have no idea what she was talking about. See what you started, Clint?” I agreed with the commentary and the joke, she was a rambling incoherent mess. It left me feeling both good and sad for her at different times, but mostly just wondering what the hell she was talking about, much like Clint with the empty chair.

        I thought that the Fey/Poehler line about middle-aged George Clooney was really good (and probably spot-on), but outside that most of what I saw from them was just so-so. I agree that Aziz Ansari was hilarious, thought that Sacha Baron Cohen was auditioning to steal any job that Ricky Gervais is every applying for (and succeeded, he was a riot), and that the Ferrell/Wiig pairing was great. I though the Les Mis actors, Hathaway and Jackman, both gave great acceptance speeches, and Jackman’s joke about having his wife come up and thank anyone he forgets was such a great ad lib.

        • E says:

          Ugh, I hated Sasha Baron Cohen. Blech. Did you miss the opening? Because Poehler and Fey didn’t do a ton after that. I thought the opening was really fun.

          And no, Arnold didn’t look that unlike himself. I loved that Haneke was so pleased to get his award from a fellow Austrian, though.

          And hey, I just mention when I see people who’ve done good work on TGW in other places. Like Mamie Gummer, who is AWESOME; the networks must think so too, because they keep sticking her in pilots. Sadly, they’ve been largely lousy shows. Am not sure how you’re judging the merit of roles you’ve never seen, anyway…

          • M says:

            Yes, I did miss the opening, so that’s too bad for me (though I have never been as enamored of the two of them – mostly because I find Poehler more annoying than funny).

            As for Good Wife peeps… you are CONSTANTLY pushing them and anything they appear in, regardless of quality. You want them to succeed because they have been on a show you revere, which is fine, I just think you may be overrating them (either on TGW, though I do not claim to know, nor did I above, or off it) because of your affinity for the show. I think it’s a blind spot for you. Gummer is a great example. Your take above on her is that she’s “AWESOME”, except that everything she’s been in other than TGW has been “largely lousy”. Now, either that’s an incredible coincidence, or she’s not as good as your evaluation of her performances on TGW.

            To use a sports analogy, over the past decade guys who have been back-up QB’s for the Philadelphia Eagles, when they’ve gotten a chance to play because the starter got injured, have performed great. However, they have done so with good talent around them and a great QB coaching staff. This has always made other teams enamored of them, and those teams either signed them to big money deals as free agents, or traded a lot to get them. It makes sense that Eagles fans, who grew to like the player during their time in Philly, root for them to succeed with their new teams (not at the Eagles expense, of course). This has happened numerous times. Every time, without fail, the player has gone on to struggle in with their new team, with different talent around them, a different coaching staff and a different offensive system. It doesn’t mean they weren’t great with the Eagles, or that the Eagles weren’t great, but that they were in the right system and were overrated because of their success there. There comes a point where the fans rightfully become skeptical, but there also comes a time where non-Eagles fans get annoyed with Eagles fans pushing for the success of those players…

            • E says:

              Bro, it is not the same thing to say that everything else she’s been in besides TGW is lousy, and to say she was in two shows that failed. George Clooney was in a bunch of failed shows before er; does that mean he was a bad actor, that everything he was ever in was bad (Facts of Life!) or that the studios were wrong to see something in him? No. It just meant that he needed a show that was the right fit. Martha Plimpton has parlayed her guest roles on TGW and Fringe into a very successful sitcom. Michael J. Fox has used the show to prove he’s still very watchable, and is getting his own show next year.

              I admit, I do get excited to see people whose work I like on TGW do well elsewhere. And you could certainly be right that TGW just writes amazing guest roles, so it could sometimes be more the show than the actors; that could be why guest spots there are so in demand.

              http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20643768,00.html

              • M says:

                Ok, the “everything else” was hyperbole. My point was that you overreact to people’s guest appearances, and push anyone that’s been on the show, to the point of it coming across as crying wolf. If you shill for everyone that appears on the show that goes on to something else, and the background of the person outside of TGW is sketchy at best, and too many of those new projects fail, no one will take your recommendations seriously. Currently, when I see you pimping something because someone from TGW is on it, I tend to tune it out.

                To use a reference that your silly boycott of sitcoms will prevent you from knowing, it’s like the How I Met Your Mother episode from a couple months ago “Stamp Tramp”. They detailed how Marshall would give his recommendation to absolutely anything regardless of quality because he liked someone or something slightly involved. Lilly, on the other hand, only recommended things that were top notch, so her stamp was golden, while Marshall’s was trash.

                So, in summary, I’m just looking out for your rep.

Leave a Reply

