Golden Globe Nominations/Reactions 2011/12 Season

E: Those Globes are tricky, all right.  They never do what you expect.  One movie I assumed was a drama, the Hollywood Foreign Press didn’t.  Several times, they considered someone lead who’d been campaigned as supporting, and vice versa.   They had a couple nominations that totally surprised, and a lot of omissions.  But hey, it’s still good times.  Let the party begin!

Best Actor – Comedy:

I guessed: Steve Carrell, Crazy Stupid Love; Matt Damon, We Bought A Zoo;Jean DuJardin, The Artist;Paul Giamatti, Win/Win;Ewan McGregor, Beginners

If not: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, 50/50; Owen Wilson, Midnight in Paris; Johnny Depp, Pirates of the Caribbean

They nominated: Jean Dujardin, The Artist; Brendan Gleeson, The Guard; Ryan Gosling, Crazy, Stupid, Love;Joseph Gordon-Levitt, 50/50;Owen Wilson, Midnight in Paris.

Well, that was terrible!  The comedy categories usually kill me, but this was even worse than usual.  At least two of the nominees were on my alternate list!  I’ve never even heard of Gleeson’s movie.  It’s funny; Ryan Gosling is having an exceptional year.  While I didn’t see the movie, it does seem clear that Gosling’s in a supporting role and that the movie is largely about Steve Carrell’s character.  And I also think it’s going to be a tough slog for him to get an Oscar nomination.  But.  It’s about time the powers that be started paying attention to the superlative work fans and critics have been seeing for so long!  Hey, Boy, you did good today.

Best Actor – Drama:

I Said: George Clooney, The Descendants;Leonardo DiCaprio,  J. Edgar; Michael Fassbender, Shame; Woody Harrelson, Rampart; Brad Pitt, Money Ball

If not: Ryan Gosling, Drive or The Ides of March; Thomas Horn, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close; Gary Oldman, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy; Michael Shannon, Take Shelter; Viggo Mortensen, A Dangerous Method

They Nominated: George Clooney, The Descendants;Leonardo DiCaprio,  J. Edgar; Michael Fassbender, Shame; Ryan Gosling, The Ides of March; Brad Pitt, Money Ball

I did much better here – only one off, and that one heading my alternate list.  In a moment of awkwardness, Woody Harrelson had been invited to read the nominations.  When Gerard Butler finished reading this list, Woody called out “are you sure you didn’t miss one?” and Butler pretended to find something.  But of course Drama is generally a more predictable category; these are the Oscar contenders, and we know in advance whose in real contention.

 

Best Actress – Comedy

I Said: Mila Kunis, Friends With Benefits; Rachel McAdams, Midnight in Paris;Julianne Moore, Crazy Stupid Love;Charlize Theron, Young Adult;Kristen Wiig, Bridesmaids

If Not: Penelope Cruz, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides; Noomi Rapace, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

They Nominated: Jodi Foster, Carnage; Charlize Theron, Young Adult;Kristin Wiig, Bridesmaids;Michelle Williams, My Week With Marilyn; Kate Winslet, Carnage.

So, okay.  Clearly I bombed here too, for two main reasons.  The HFP decided to put Foster and Winslet as leads instead of supporting.  And they also considered My Week With Marilyn a comedy, which I had placed below in Drama.  Foster and Winslet fit their Big Star passion, and Williams was going to be nominated somewhere for her acclaimed turn as Marilyn Monroe. She strikes me as the likeliest winner, which makes being in Comedy rather than Drama a nice boost for her.

Best Actress – Drama:

I Said: Glenn Close, Albert Nobbs; Viola Davis, The Help; Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady; Tilda Swinton, We Need To Talk About Kevin; Michelle Williams, My Week With Marilyn

If Not: Kirsten Dunst, Melancholia; Felicity Jones, Like Crazy; Keira Knightley, A Dangerous Method; Rooney Mara, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo; Elizabeth Olsen, Martha Marcy May Marlene; Emma Stone, The Help

They Nominated: Glenn Close, Albert Nobbs; Viola Davis, The Help; Rooney Mara, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo; Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady; Tilda Swinton, We Need To Talk About Kevin

Again, one of my alternates swapped out for a lead, but this time because I put Williams in the wrong category.  Well enough.  The biggest question going forward from here is whether Swinton is a lock, or if Theron, Mara or even Olsen can sneak in to take her slot.

Supporting Actor:

I said: Albert Brooks, Drive; Tom Hanks, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close;Christopher Plummer, Beginners;Brad Pitt, The Tree of Life;Max Von Sydow, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

If not: Kenneth Branagh, My Week With Marilyn; George Clooney, The Ides of March; Armie Hammer, J.Edgar; Jonah Hill, Moneyball; Jeremy Irons, Margin Call; Patton Oswalt, Young Adult; John C. Reilly, Carnage; Kevin Spacey, Margin Call; Christoph Waltz, Carnage

They Nominated: Kenneth Branagh, My Week With Marilyn; Albert Brooks, Drive; Jonah Hill, Moneyball; Viggo Mortensen, A Dangerous Method; Christopher Plummer, Beginners

So much for everyone assuming Max Von Sydow was a given; he didn’t get a SAG nomination, either, the combination of which has surely has lessened his Oscar chances.  Mortensen I’m certain was being campaigned as a lead; I’m always happy to see him get the attention his work deserves, however. With incredible reluctance, I’m admitting Jonah Hill has to be taken seriously, though I’m still betting he’s going to be this year’s Andrew Garfield, touted everywhere but Oscar. I should have called Branagh, though, and not been blinded by Hanks’ star power.  It seems the Hollywood Foreign Press really didn’t like Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close at all.  Bad day for that film and cast.

Well, okay.  I swear to you I will be better at this come the Oscars!

Supporting Actress:

I Said: Sandra Bullock, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close; Melissa McCarthy, Bridesmaids;Olivia Spencer, The Help;Shailene Woodley, The Descendants;Vanessa Redgrave, Coriolanus

If not: Berenice Bejo, The Artist;  Jessica Chastain, The Help/Tree of Life; Jody Foster, Carnage; Janet McTeer, Albert Nobbs; Chloe Grace Moretz, Hugo; Kate Winslet, Carnage

They Nominated: Berenice Bejo, The Artist; Jessica Chastain, The Help; Janet McTeer, Albert Nobbs; Octavia Spencer, The Help; Shailene Woodley, The Descendants

Ryan Gosling isn’t the only one having a banner year; Jessica Chastain gets her nod as well.  The cast of ELAIC, not so much.  I’m a little surprised that McCarthy didn’t get a nod here.  She did get one from SAG, though, so it’ll be interesting to see if her Oscar chances are dead or not.  It’s very unusual for Oscar to reward such broad comedy, and this would have been a great help in her campaign for a nomination. Vanessa Redgrave too suffers a blow in her campaign, perhaps a fatal one after being left off the SAG shortlist.  Janet McTeer, on the other hand, is doing just fine.  Shailene Woodley missed out on a SAG nom; it’ll be fascinating to see who ends up on the final list, but we have a pretty good idea which 6 or 7 women are in the hunt.

Best Picture, Musical or Comedy:

I Said: The Artist; Bridesmaids; Midnight in Paris;We Bought A Zoo;Young Adult

If not: 50/50, Carnage, Crazy Stupid Love, The Muppets, Win/Win

They Nominated: 50/50; The Artist; Bridesmaids; Midnight in Paris; My Week With Marilyn

And My Week With Marilyn comes back to bite me yet again.  We Bought a Zoo is totally shut out.  Woody Allen does well, and The Artist and Bridesmaids, as I expectedThe Artist and Midnight in Paris expect to contend in the confused race for somewhere between 5 and 10 Best Picture slots; The Artist has to be considered a lock.  With a SAG ensemble nod under its belt as well, could Bridesmaids actually compete on the biggest stage?  It’s not so likely (too broad), but there’s no denying it’s a good, good week for the funny women who made and starred in this movie.s

Best Picture, Drama:

I Said: The Descendants, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, The Help, Hugo, Moneyball

If not:  Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, The Ides of March, The Tree of Life, War Horse

They Nominated: The Descendants, The Help, Hugo, The Ides of March, Moneyball, War Horse

See, I said they sometimes added extra nominees.  And this year Oscar could follow suit!  These are all exciting movies, the cream of the crop. I’m a little surprised (though pleased) to see The Ides of March included here, and even more surprised (though I probably shouldn’t be, given their love of celebrity) to learn that George Clooney was nominated for Best Director for it. I’m happy to see Hugo made the list, and surprised that Mara got their attention but not her movie.  We’re looking more and more like The Artist and The Descendants will win their respective categories and then square off for Oscar.

Harry Potter is dead; long live Harry Potter!  I can’t see he has any chance at Oscar now.

Finally, on the television side, I was sorry to see only Julianna Margulies nominated from The Good Wife, but excited about all the new blood – Homeland and it’s stars, The New Girl, Boss, American Horror Story, Game of Thrones, The Killing, Necessary Roughness, Suits – it’s nice to see new names when the Emmy awards are often so boring and stagnant.    I’m particularly thrilled that British television and PBS are so well represented in the movies – Downton Abbey, Page Either, Luther and my favorite piece of short form television of the year, The Hour.  Cheers to Dominic West, Romola Garai, Bill Nighy, Idris Elba, Hugh Bonneville, Elizabeth McGovern, Maggie Smith and also old favorites Claire Danes, Damien Lewis, Zooey Deschanel, Peter Dinklage and Madeline Stowe (even if she’s not really the lead of Revenge).  Congratulations!

7 comments on “Golden Globe Nominations/Reactions 2011/12 Season

  1. Kiki says:

    No love for The Good Wifen 😦 sad but Homeland is my new obsession, and Boss is amazing too!

    Are you watching Homeland, E?? its so good!!

    • E says:

      I don’t have Showtime, Kiki, but I’m dying to watch Homeland, I’ve heard amazing things about it. Love Damien Lewis and Clare Danes and Marena Baccarin (sp?)!

  2. Kiki says:

    Omg E, can you watch it online? I cannot wait until you watch for we can discuss!!
    Its great, Lewis, Danes, Baccarin, and Patinkin….an amazing cast! if they don’t win the Emmy, I would be shocked!

    (Also sorry about responding in the TGW post, I am not trying to start a fight, but I just hate the way he came at me like that. He didn’t need to be so rude, sorry didn’t mean to start any trouble 😦 )

    • E says:

      I know the pilot was online, but I’m not sure about the rest – I do really want to find it. I forgot MP was in, I love him. Even more reason to seek it out! I wonder if I can buy the episodes on itunes, or when it’s coming out on video – the season ends this weekend, right?

  3. Kiki says:

    MP is one of my favorite character on the show! I love them all haha.
    You could get it on itunes might be a little more expensive but I think is worth it. DVD probably won’t come out until the summer, I wouldn’t wait that long if I were you hehehe 😀
    And yes the 90 minute season finale is this Sunday!!! YAY!!

  4. Christopher Schlarfenderpensmack says:

    How could you not even concider Gleeson?One of the three best performances this year,although it doesn´t make you cry…except from laughter.I think The debt fell victilm to a hype that was uncalled for,fine thriller. Christensen should´ve gotten a best supporting nod. Bridesmaids getting one of 5 screenplaynominations is so bizarre,I´m out of words.Wiig is wonderful,it´s funny but women crapping in sinks and throwing up on eachother…it´s just that it´s new.It´s IMDB rating,the people,doesn´t approve of neither that or Spielbegs sentimental War horse but people don´t count.. Tinker,tailor and The girl with…will benefit from being released late,especially Tinker.I hope Gleeson,Shannon,Dujardin,Fassbender and Oldman for best actor but Pitt,possibly Gosling and guaranteed Clooney(For once again portaying just George effin´Clooney!GOD DAMN IT!) will ruin that. Redgrave wasn´t nommed at the Globes but is a sure lock for the oscars.If only one thing,the Globes are no longer strict predictions for the Oscars. And we have several critics associations yet to reveal their pics.PS.Hope Brooks doesn´t get nommed just for not being funny but a human gangster in Drive.Playing against type shouldn´t cause such a hype.Rather Nolte in Warrior but that´s not gonna happen.

    • E says:

      I just hadn’t heard that much buzz around Gleeson’s performance, that’s all, though like you say, I probably shouldn’t have been surprised – he was nominated in 2009 and 2008 (so we know they really like him) and most people weren’t expecting the nod for In Bruges. I’d be stunned if he had a shot at an Oscar nod, though, and I think Shannon and Oldman are long shots. Unless TTSS has a big end of the season run, anyway, it’s not looking good. This year is weird – so many high profile movies haven’t even opened yet (Dragon Tattoo, War Horse, TTSS, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close…) that it’s hard to know where you stand and who might bloom or bust. Going to be an interesting late December/early January, anyway!

Leave a Reply

