We are experiencing – difficulties

E: So, Good Wife fans, I seem to have deleted my 2/3rds completed recap, and there doesn’t seem to be anything I can do to get it back.  Picked a bad time for it, too, since WordPress’s “support” staff is apparently unavailable for the next week plus.  Excuse the noise of me bashing my head against the computer, as I figure out what on earth I’m going to do.  Shorter recap?  Rewrite it all for later in the week?  Right now the thought of re-doing all that work just about makes me want to weep…

24 comments on “We are experiencing – difficulties

  1. MMGF says:

    I think you should post a video blog post this time instead. 🙂

  2. Agrippina says:

    Oh, I’m sorry to read that. We’ll all stay patient till you get the time to write it again, will we? I’m afraid skipping a recap is not an option – but hey, no pressure 🙂

  3. E says:

    Oh, I would never skip it. 🙂 I am committed.

    I think my question is more along the lines of this – would you guys prefer the recaps if they were a bit less transcript like, as they were for much of the first season? They’re awfully long – too long? Or is that why you guys come?

    • nikkie says:

      I come for the long version. I think you do a great recap with your own spin on it. I love them! If you can’t face doing this one again, just do a short version for this episonde; we would certainly all understand. 🙂

  4. Agrippina says:

    I’ve to confess that I love reading your recaps especially because they are so transcript like. It’s like watching the episode again without missing anything!

  5. dorizuza says:

    I first started reading your blog because I had trouble getting the episodes as soon as they came out 🙂 Love the transcripts, and especially the descriptions of the facial expressions that accompany them. Spot on.

  6. Kiki says:

    WHAT! Noooooooo *cries*

    I will be willing to wait until you can do it again, but if its too much work for you to do it all again, then just give us a shorter recap! what a shame since this episode rocked!

  7. Kate says:

    I love your recaps, especially all the detail you give (we are *still* waiting for season 3 to start in australia but I can’t help but follow the season from afar – hopeless addict – so the more detail the better for me!) but more than anything i love your insights and thoughts about the characters, their motivations, story development etc. so so as long as you include your insights i will never complain 🙂

    btw, i noticed in a couple of pre season interviews that julianna margulies once again referred to “prostitutes” in her interview!!! the inconsistency is maddening!

    kate

    • E says:

      Thank you, Kate! 🙂 I’ve restarted. Hopefully I’ll remember all the stuff I’d added in before! I think it’s coming out better than the first time, too. It’s all this wonderful encouragement. I really should be in bed but you guys have given me renewed energy. 🙂

      If I could ask the Kings one question, I sure know what it would be. I hate the ‘one hooker’ rewrite! Super annoying. So with you.

      • Kate says:

        i would comment more often (and make you feel more appreciated!) except i don’t often feel i have much to add…. usually by the time i have seen the relevant episode you are already a few episodes ahead. [the only exception was towards the end of last season when for some freakish reason we managed to end up only a few days behind you guys!]

        i think i really need to find a way to get hold of complete episodes over the net 😉

        kate

        • E says:

          Hey, I never mind questions on old episodes, and I’m sure the rest of the posters feel the same. We all love to talk Good Wife.

  8. John Graydon says:

    Oh yikes, aren’t computers a pain sometimes?!

    I’ve often written a long post only to fumble the damn shift/control key, which has blitzed all my work — but I usually find if I press the Back button a few times, and then press repeatedly on the Forward, there it all is again. That’s happened several times to me already. (At work, I always use Save and Resume whenever I think of it.) But I guess it’s a bit late for that now!

    We can certainly wait, though. “Good things take time“, is one of my mantras, as I try to become more patient!

    I vote for the DETAIL, too. Often, if there’s a scene that mystifies me, or an expression, or a line, I’ll look forward to checking your recap to see what you made of it. Your great insights are what most of us are here for, I think.

    So take your time. Your recaps are always worth the wait.

    • E says:

      You should have heard my husband’s shock: what do you mean, you did all that work and didn’t back it up? Sigh. It’s what I get for relying on autosave. The text disappeared (I still don’t know what I hit that could have highlighted and deleted EVERYTHING) and then bam, before I can even hit the back button, the autosave feature comes on, overwrites everything, and it’s gone, poof.

      Almost there. And honestly, I think the writing is better this time. Or that’s what I’m telling myself, anyway?

      • John Graydon says:

        E., when I learned to type, it was on those machines that had a great big shift key, where now keyboards have three separate keys where there used to be just one. I have trouble now, because I still just poke my little finger in the general vicinity of the shift key, and I sometimes hit one of the others by mistake.

        Now, when I write something, I sometimes accidentally hit Control+n instead of Shift+n, so instead of a capital N, I got a blank screen with a “New” page that had just opened, and it looks like all my work is gone. The back and forward buttons soon take me back to where I was, though.

        I would NEVER use Autosave, because I don’t want my computer to do ANYTHING that I don’t specifically tell it to do. (That’s one of the things I hate about Microsoft Word, that it thinks it’s clever doing things I didn’t tell it to do, when it’s often something I don’t want.

        I see you’ve posted your recap again — good for you — so I’ll go now and read it!

Leave a Reply

