Golden Globes 2011: The Winners!

E: Well,  what did you think of that?  Some nice clothes, no?  The show was a bit short on the funny and the weepy (though there was, happily, a bit of both).  Robert DeNiro tried to do stand up, and happily didn’t go on too long.  I’m inclined to agree with Robert Downey Jr that host Ricky Gervais lent an unnecessarily meanspirited tone to the proceedings.  And Downey did a fantastic job if he was interviewing for future hosting duties, because he was downright hilarious, leering cheerfully at the five comedic actress nominees. Most adorable was probably pink cheeked Chris Colfer (“I think that I just dropped my heart between Natalie Portman and Julianne Moore, so if somebody happens to see it..”) and the castmates who were so clearly thrilled for him.  Most surprising might have been Katey Segal beating a very tough field for her work in The Sons of Anarchy.

All in all, most of my predictions proved to be on point, some of my favorites won, and others of my favorite (boo, tv) lost.  But that’s how the Golden Globe crumbles!

Best Supporting Actor:

I picked: Christian Bale, The Fighter

The Hollywood Foreign Press picked: Christian Bale, The Fighter

Mr Bale was looking a bit wild and woolly, wasn’t he, and rather more – er – floaty than one would have expected for the first award of the night.  It’s also really odd to hear him speak in his own Welsh accent.   I appreciated his thanks to Mark Wahlburg for the opportunity, for honoring the Ward/Eklund family but mostly his remark about how quieter roles like Wahlburg’s unusually go unnoticed (and so, hurray for the HFPA for nominating him). I think his work is amazing enough that the speech (which wasn’t offensive in anyway, but quite rambling) isn’t going to hurt him.

Best Supporting Actress:

I picked: Amy Adams, The Fighter

The HFPA picked: Melissa Leo, The Fighter

Well, at least I can console myself by remembering that I said it would be one of the two.  And while I do really like Amy Adams, I adore Melissa Leo (and the way the presenter read her name as “Lay-O”).  She’s one of those magical chameleons who loses themselves in their work.  She’s been astounding and utterly different in the few excellent works I’ve seen her in (Frozen River, 21 Grams, The Fighter and Veronica Mars‘s “Meet John Smith”).  I thought that Adams might get awarded for playing so well against type, and for being a bigger celebrity, but I’m thrilled that Leo – who deserved the Oscar for the marvelous Frozen River – took the prize instead.  And unlike her costar, she came off as completely adorable in her flummoxed little speech.

Best Actor, Musical or Comedy:

I picked: Johnny Depp, Alice in Wonderland

The HFPA picked: Paul Giamatti, Barney’s Version

Well, you can see from his speech that Giamatti’s quite funny of the cuff, not to mention bright.  And he made his movie sound funny, which makes his role more Musical/Comedy appropriate than perpetual HFPA favorite Depp.  The category has less than no relevance to this year’s Oscars, so it was a bit of a give away; just a nice freebie for someone who otherwise isn’t going to get any attention.  So good for you, Mr. Giamatti. And that’s it for my mistakes…

Best Actress, Musical or Comedy

I picked: Annette Bening, The Kids Are All Right

The HFPA picked: Annette Bening, The Kids Are All Right

You could pretty much have handed Natalie Portman the Oscar last night if Bening had lost here, but no, Bening’s chances live on.  Her speech was just fine.  Did anyone else think it was funny  that she and her film’s director, Lisa Cholodenko,  have nearly the same hair style and glasses?  It was cute that she thanked her husband Warren Beatty by referring to him as the 1962 Golden Globe winner of most promising newcomer.  Very cute.

Best Picture, Musical or Comedy

I picked: The Kids Are All Right

The HFPA picked: The Kids Are All Right

There is it.  It was actually a comedy, which gave it points over Alice in Wonderland and The Tourist.  And it was largely acknowledged to be a good movie, which gave it props over musical Burlesque, and the action/comedy Red (not to mention the critically revile flop The Tourist). They didn’t leave themselves a lot of maneuvering room here.  This movie could have beat out a much better crowd, but in this company it was a total ringer.

Best Actor, Drama

I picked: Colin Firth, The King’s Speech

The HFPA picked: Colin Firth, The King’s Speech

I hope we can write Firth’s name on the Oscar right now.  I’m so thrilled that this lovely man – long undervalued for his work in romances and romantic comedies – is getting his due for a brilliant, brilliant performance. See the movie, seriously, and you will know just what I mean!  See the movie anyway.  It’s terrific.  Firth looked fantastic and gave a typical British speech – humble, articulate, and full of dry wit.  He was fantastic, easily the best speaker of the night.

Best Actress, Drama:

I picked: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

The HFPA picked: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Portman brings her Golden Globe total to an impressive 2 for 3.  Wow, I can’t believe how recently Natalie Portman announced her pregnancy considering how very pregnant she looked last night!  I wasn’t sold on her dress; maternity fashion is a peculiar field, but the pink, and the big red rose afixed to her bosom – well, it was interesting.  She was cute.  She rambled a bit.  I do wonder – will this sound awful? – if her youth won’t be outweighed by her pregnancy when it’s the Academy’s turn to vote.  Catherine Zeta Jones wasn’t hampered by her pregnancy, but she didn’t have a host of silly comedies hitting theaters that might have diluted her image.  Bening has lost twice to young Hilary Swank, and might be considered “due,” but being due hasn’t helped her costar Julianne Moore.

The sort of cliche about Oscar is that the Academy loves to reward young gorgeous women and older men who’ve paid their dues and possess more experience than glamor.    Tonight’s actress wins set up a showdown between two these two actresses and performances, into which ridiculous or irrelevant things (like charm, age, willingness to do publicity, rumors, ad campaigns for upcoming movies ) could easily factor.  We’ll see how it turns out!

Best Picture, Drama

I picked: The Social Network

The HFPA picked: The Social Network

Bah.  What can I say?  This movie just didn’t speak to me.  There were great lines, sure, but – eh, whatever.  This win takes The Social Network from critical darling to Oscar front runner.  Now, the Globes often get this wrong, which is to say, they have different taste than the Academy’s.  I’m thinking Avatar, Brokeback Mountain, Atonement, The Aviator, Babel, and The Hours in the last decade alone. So I’m going to hope that this isn’t the final word on the subject.

But it is nearly my final word on the subject, at least for today.

So, let’s see.  Burlesque won Diane Warren best song; I was surprised to learn she hadn’t won a Globe before.  I genuinely thought she’d already won every award possible for a song writer to win.  The Social Network won best score.  I suppose I should have bothered to note in my predictions that Aaron Sorkin was a total lock for best screenplay and that Toy Story 3 could not lose Best Animated Film; you’ll have to trust that I knew that, just like everyone else.   You can assume that that will also hold true for the Oscars.  Pontificaters were suggesting that even if director David Fincher won for The Social Network – which he did – The King’s Speech could still take Best Picture (which it didn’t).   My favorite dress might have been Olivia Wilde’s enormous tulle sparkle strapless one, but I was fascinated by the really new shapes – lots of puffed sleeves and shoulder pads, worn beautifully on Anne Hathaway, Leighton Meister and Angelina Jolie.  January Jones had the most eye-popping dress for sure, small straps cascading into fringe in bright crimson.  The funniest Gervais was, I thought, was his tirade calling Steve Carell ungrateful and taking him to task for killing Ricky’s own cash cow. That was pretty funny.  Otherwise, he seemed a bit disjointed to me, not to mention mean.

And that really was my final word.  What did you think?  Which wins – or upsets – were most exciting to you?  Did any speech touch your heart?  Did the tuxes or dresses leave you swooning? Do tell!

12 comments on “Golden Globes 2011: The Winners!

  1. Pam says:

    E, you went easy on Natalie Portman… Yes, she looked extremely pregnant for first trimester (I tried to look up a due date and that’s all I saw that she said first tri on the red carpet) …you could have had a field day mocking her speech. She was silly and embarrassing. “He’s such a good actor, in the movie he acts like he doesn’t want to sleep with me, but he totally did.” I’m sure little her little weirdly name star baby will regret that speech some day.

    • E says:

      I can’t believe she’s only in the first trimester – I guess she’s just such a tiny little person that the baby had no were to go? I honestly think her dress looked like a really sexy, luxury bedsheet fastened with that peculiar red rose. I don’t know what’s up with that.

      And yeah, she was a little dorky. I think Colin Firth and Melissa Leo were the only contenders who did themselves favors with their speeches. I guess it’s good that these are all sort of new people, and we don’t know what they’re going to sound like, even if it turns out to be crazy or dull.

  2. prettyparley says:

    Ricky Gervais was awful, but it seemed like the celebrities picked up on that right away. My favorite speeches came from Colfer and the other guy from Glee (I think a producer?) who thanked public school teachers for their work. I’m not even a Gleek.. but I thought the excitement of the cast/crew was heartwarming.

    • E says:

      Oh, I agree, that was really love, the bit about public school teachers. And yeah, the Glee cast’s enthusiasm was adorable and catchy. (I really like Glee, although the show is certainly flawed and I frankly thought the first half of this season was pretty disappointing. I was shocked that they won, but couldn’t help feeling happy for them.)

      In the same vein I thought the girl from The Big Bang Theory was pretty adorable when she got to give the Best Actor in a Comedy award to her costar. That’s a nice moment.

  3. M says:

    I didn’t watch the whole thing, but what I did watch was very predictable, well, expect Paul Giamatti, which was great. A few comments:

    Far and away the line of the night was Michael Douglas’ “There’ got to be an easier way to get a standing ovation”. I thought the ovation and moment were moving, and the line was just the cherry on top. Fantastic.

    De Niro. I thought that Matt Damon’s intro was great, and while all the jokes may not have landed for De Niro’s part, I thought enough of them did. Plus, it was refreshing, especially the line about false humility.

    I don’t know why, but Annette Benning has always annoyed me. Maybe because the first thing I remember seeing her in was the awful Grifters, but I can’t think of a time that I liked her character (hmm, just decided to check, so I went to IMDb… yep, never).

    I love that the Globes have a Musical/Comedy division, but I would love it if they would break free of the restraints that are typically put on these awards shows. I mean, last year they did by putting up, and actually awarding an actual comedy (The Hangover). This year the box they had to reach outside of was live action. By far the best comedies of the year were animated, but they didn’t get a sniff here. Do we really think that “Kids” was a better comedy than Toy Story 3 or Despicable Me?

    Black Swan…. I get less and less interested in this the more I see for/about it. Ugh. I thought that Natalie Portman’s speech, however, was cute, though clearly will be very embarrassing for her yet-to-be-born-out-of-wedlock child.

    Colin Firth was great, but to my sister who said that his speech was “typically British, humble, articulate and full of dry wit”, I counter by pointing out that Russell Brand is British. So is Christian Bale. It would be great for my point if Russell Crowe was, but he’s not, however a certain host from last night is, which brings me to…..

    Ricky Gervais. I thought that Tim Allen and Tom Hanks summed it up well. I remember when he was slightly chubby and kind comedian, which he was clearly not last night. Gervais was mean, and not funny mean, just mean. You can be mean and pull it off if you are also self deprecating and do it in a way that pokes fun without really being nasty about it. He may have been trying for that, but he failed. All the responses from presenters and recipients were great, and almost made up for it, but it just put a damper on the night. Especially when he ended with an awful attempt at religious humor, thanking God for making him an atheist. After that last one I was talking with Mrs M about it, and mentioned that it rang really sour for me. I found it interesting because when people of faith thank God or express their religious belief in acceptance speeches, or after games or things like that, it is an expression of their own faith. What he did was not meant as a expression of his own belief, but to tear down others’ beliefs. So sad.

    • E says:

      M – You know I agree about the animated movies, but it turns out that the HFPA has some sort of rule (one I’m certain is relatively new) which makes animated films ineligible for their other Best Picture categories. Annoying, but there it is. The musical/comedy picks were baffling, they really were. I mean, they’re often odd, but this was just a totally peculiar grouping.

      There’s a lot to respond to here, and I will, but the one thing I most wanted to say is that I kind of felt like the whole thanking God thing was more RG being an a** than him actually expressing a personal opinion. I thought it was a completely stupid way to end the show, but it just felt like a cheap joke, and a random chance to be offensive which somehow was less offensive to me because it was such a bad joke. That probably doesn’t make any sense. I guess all I mean was that it was too cheap a shot for me to give the satisfaction of actively being annoyed by it. I just generally didn’t enjoy him.

      • shasas says:

        not that it should change how you choose to react to it, E, but it is in fact an actual opinion of RG’s the atheism thing.. he has recently either written about it or spoken (I read an article not too long ago) where he explains why he thinks what he thinks…

        which, as I said in my comments, I am FINE with him choosing to believe that, however to make a point, on continuous occasions to mock others’ beliefs is just not funny to me. I don’t care who is doing it or why, I don’t see humor in it..

        • E says:

          Oh. Well, I guess that’s how it mostly adds up for me, though – I didn’t find him funny. Want to rank on The Tourist in front of the HFPA (who nominated it) and Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp (who star in it)? I bet there’s a way to do it without being actually mean. I guess I don’t have much of a tolerance for that. The atheist crack – it’s just nonsensical, and I’d pretty much tuned him out by then.

          We’re definitely giving him more attention than his performance merits!

  4. shasas says:

    I just have to add (Mrs. M here) that I was very disappointed in Gervais. I thought I kind of liked him before this, but I guess not, if this is his schtick. He was just mean and cutting and did not pull off any humor in it. I agree that some self-deprecation would’ve helped. WIthout it he came off as very arrogant. Just because I may be Christian (and I am) I don’t think it is appropriate or comical in any way to go out of my way to mock those of differing or those without religious views. It is really just sophomoric and egotistical.

    Aside from the religious commentary which is insulting, I detest what he did/said about Robert Downey Jr. We all know that this man has been in and out of rehab. Since when is it funny to put someone down based on that AS YOU ARE WELCOMING THEM ON STAGE.. He is in recovery and, by all accounts, doing well and performing excellently in movie roles right now. Why would you not celebrate that? It left me thinking very little of the character and taste level of Gervais, not too mention a very low opinion of his talent.

  5. shasas says:

    OHH! and I LOOOOOOVED Olivia Wilde’s dress.. my favorite by far..

    several others I liked a lot were Lea Michelle’s and JLo’s- I know some critics were down on JLos- but on screen in motion I loved it.. still photos did not do it justice..

  6. the presidentrix says:

    I didn’t think I had anything to say on this post, since I didn’t watch the Globes and haven’t seen most of the nominated films (yet, anyway), but I did find a slide show of the dresses on the web this morning.

    I quite liked Olivia Wilde’s dress, as well. And it happened to stir up a memory of a dress Julianna Margulies wore to an award show many years back. (Thought E might find this interesting…) It would have been 1998 or 99 – around the time I went to my first formal dance. It was my senior year of high school, and I’d never been asked or allowed to go to a formal before, only to have my parents abruptly decide I could go to that year’s winter formal and that, furthermore, they would take me dress shopping and pay for my first fancy dress. Ta-da!

    I remember it was the very beginning of the advent of the ubiquitous pastel boned bodice with giant satin skirt, and I very much had the classic Disney princess dress in mind. I definitely wanted pink or pale green, and found the thought of (heaven forfend!) a red dress unimaginably tarty!

    But nothing fit, and so many of the dresses looked weird on my extremely short size fourteen (back then) body. I couldn’t figure out how to dress like a girl my age, when all the dresses made in my size looked like they were aping princess Di. After a close brush with a purple velvet number, my mom an I stumbled onto this (then) quite odd cousin to the pastel ballgown trend: a black sparkle ballgown. Now, this wouldn’t be weird within a year or so – at which point the fitted bodice and giant skirt would have achieved all manner of permutations; my youngest sister nearly got one with a *bustle* – but it was definitely a slightly strange dress that year. In place of the boned bodice it had a black stretch velvet sort of tank, spangled all over with swirls of silver glitter, over a giant black matte satin skirt. (It wasn’t as tacky as it sounds, though it wasn’t so very high end, either, LOL). Anyway, it suited me, and it didn’t make me feel like Princess Di, and the giant skirt was very pleasant to swish about. But I felt anxious about it all the same. I honestly wondered if I would be laughed at – by relatives, by the other kids, for some of whom black might have seemed quite reasonable, even while it made me feel vaguely ridiculous. When asked about my dress in the days leading up to the event, I would laugh weakly and describe it as ‘Bride of Darth Vader.’ I really thought a black ballgown was some very strange, unthinkable thing for a teenage girl.

    And that’s exactly when I found the picture of Julianna Margulies in her black dress. Strapless, fitted to the waist, full skirt, with these super-intricate little waves of sparkle that started close together on the bodice and gradually grew further apart as they descended down the skirt. It was so irrefutably gorgeous (to me as a seventeen year old, anyway; I haven’t seen a picture of it since then), and it made me completely at peace with my black sparkle dress in the space of a moment. To wear a dress like that suddenly became infinitely sophisticated and desirable. When the big night came, it is safe to say that I was channeling – oh, I was channeling Julianna Margulies in my mind…!

    Now, looking back, my only regret was the black velvet scrunchy.

    That was a long story. Heh. But it was reading about The Good Wife and seeing Olivia Wilde’s sparkle dress that brought it all back! (And now I want to know if C went to her prom and what she wore. It would have been the very same year!)

    • E says:

      Pres, I love this story. It’s awesome. I can picture the dress – and, in fact, I almost think I can picture JM’s dress. She wears a lot of black, but still.

      I’ll let C tell you about her prom dress. Ah, good memories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

