Emmy Awards: Who Do We Like?

In which E waxes poetic (or something) about the nominees.  Who will win?  Who should win?  Who got snubbed?  Who cares?  Well, you know me.  I love award shows.  And I just like to talk about TV. 

Outstanding Comedy Series:

30 Rock

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Glee

Modern Family

Nurse Jackie

The Office

Well, you know me.  I’m not so enamored of sitcoms.  Glee is the only show I watch on this list. Modern Family seems to be the consensus winner, which, blah blah blah.  It’s nice that there are three new shows on this list, and that one of them is the likely winner.  Not that Glee exactly feels new at this point (which I’m sure is part of why the Emmy’s always feel so out of touch) but still.  I’d have been much more invested in this category if they’d nominated my favorites, which are the hour long comedies Chuck and Ugly Betty.  (Clearly what I dislike, then, is the half hour format.  All the shows I do like are highly stylized; maybe it’s the half hour attempt at realism that fails so badly in my eyes?)

*

Outstanding Drama Series:

Breaking Bad

Dexter

The Good Wife

Lost

Mad Men

True Blood

Of course I’d love the winner to be The Good Wife, but I’d be okay with Lost winning, as well, even if I still haven’t seen the finale season.  (And despite the fact that the writers seem to have been using the theory that least excited me of any of the possible explanations for the plot.)  You’d think that would have to be the sentimental favorite, although I get the impression prognosticators don’t expect it to win.  And lots of people whose taste I respect love Mad Men; I suppose you have to consider that show the favorite.  I can’t see that Dexter or Breaking Bad have that much of a shot.  True Blood has done well with other awards, though.  Can werewolves and vampires follow in the footprints of pay cable’s much lauded earlier sentinels, the mob and undertakers? It’ll be an interesting one to watch, maybe.

*

Lead Actor in a Comedy:

Alex Baldwin, 30 Rock

Steve Carrell, The Office

Larry David, Curb Your Enthusiasm

Matthew Morrison, Glee

Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory

Tony Shaloub, Monk

Say it with me – Monk is still on the air?  Or was, recently enough to earn the always tremendous Shaloub this nomination?  Unreal.  Alex Baldwin has been dominating this category of late, but it would certainly be fun to see Jim Parsons or Matthew Morrison take this.  As long as it’s not the odious and unfunny Larry David, I really don’t care.  Although, really?  I love Steve Carrell, but his performance here is exactly the reason I don’t watch sitcoms.  My sister loves this show, and you know how she and our Mom watch it?  By fast-forwarding everything with Carrell in it.  I’m just saying. But by all means, keep nominating him until he’s off the air!  It’s the Emmy way.

I bet it will be Baldwin again.  Emmy generally goes to the most boring and obvious choice.  And honestly?  The Quibbling Siblings officially hate this category for never noticing Chuck Bartowski.  Er, Zachary Levi.  So a pox on all your houses!

*

Lead Actress in a Comedy:

Toni Collete, United States of Tara

Edit Falco, Nurse Jackie

Tina Fey, 30 Rock

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, The New Adventures of Old Christine

Leah Michele, Glee

Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

I hear that Falco has this one in the bag.  We know Emmy loves her, so that’d be consistent.  I imagine that former winners Fey, Collette, and Louis-Dreyfus are her closest competition.  Collette won the SAG, so I’d be calling it for her if the buzz didn’t seem to strong about Falco.  I’d love to see Glee‘s radiant Michele take the win, but Emmy goes for old friends, not the hot young thing.  (That’s the Golden Globes’ job, in case you’re wondering.)  Michele is greatly outnumbered by the old friends. Though not, noticably, an old Friend; I understand Courtney Cox does good work in the tragically named Cougar Town, but Emmy decided to ignore her in the 90s and it’s not stopping now.

*

Lead Actor in a Drama:

Kyle Chandler, Friday Night Lights

Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad

Matthew Fox, Lost

Michael C. Hall, Dexter

Jon Hamm, Mad Men

Hugh Laurie, House

I don’t know about this one.  Most folks don’t seem to think Matthew Fox has a chance.  Again, from a sentimental point of view, I’d like to see him win, even though he’s hardly my favorite from the cast.   The list is mostly composed of the same old guys.  Poor Simon Baker – just not able to make the cut this year; only Hugh Laurie stands for the procedurals this year.  Could be Cranston, could be Hamm.  I’m happy to see the excellent Kyle Chandler crack the shortlist, at least, even if I don’t watch his show (too much shaky hand cam – makes me nauseous).

*

Lead Actress in a Drama:

Connie Britton, Friday Night Lights

Glenn Close, Damages

Mariska Hargitay, Law and Order: SVU

January Jones, Mad Men

Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife

Kyra Sedgewick, The Closer

If this award goes to anyone other than my Julianna, I’ll find myself a hat to eat.  Emmy loves her.  She’s got an exciting new role.  She’s carrying a fantastic freshman series, so she’s an old face (sorry) in new clothes, and man, are they glorious clothes.  I honestly cannot imagine anyone stealing her glory. It’s nice to see new blood in the arena, too, so hurray for Britton and Jones even if they’re chiefly there for the party.


*

Supporting Actor in a Comedy:

Ty Burrell, Modern Family

Chris Colfer, Glee

Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men

Jesse Tyler Ferguson,  Modern Family

Neil Patrick Harris, How I Met Your Mother

Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family

Well, if Emmy is set on being predictable, they’ll reward Cryer or Harris.  What an unusual category – we have 4 first time nominees!  That never happens.  I bet one of the Modern Family trio takes it, though I can’t imagine who.  Anyway, I can’t think too closely about this category because then I’d remember that Chuck‘s Adam Baldwin was brutally snubbed, and I’d start growling at innocent bystanders.

*

Supporting Actor in a Drama:

Andre Braugher, Men of a Certain Age

Michael Emerson, Lost

Terry O’Quinn, Lost

Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad

Martin Short, Damages

John Slattery, Mad Men

So there’s poor Martin Short, who has just lost his wife.  And there are the amazing O’Quinn and Emerson, who have erm, lost their Lost.  Braugher is a former winner in the lead category.  I hear Aaron Paul is amazing.  But you really have to root for Emerson, don’t you?  

*

Supporting Actress in a Comedy:

Julie Bowen, Modern Family

Jane Krakowski, 30 Rock

Jane Lynch, Glee

Holland Taylor, Two and a Half Men

Sofia Vergara, Modern Family

Kristen Wiig, Saturday Night Live

You know that hat I was talking about?  If Jane Lynch – who is suddenly everywhere, who is hilarious and awesome and nearly as ubiquitous as Betty White – loses, I won’t know how to explain it.   If Lynch turns into this year’s Vanessa Williams (hugely buzzed for her role on Ugly Betty and yet perpetually snubbed), it’ll be the biggest disappointment of my night.  Heck, it’s bad enough that Vanessa Williams is this year’s Vanessa Williams!

*

Supporting Actress in a Drama

Christine Baranski, The Good Wife

Rose Byrne, Damages

Sharon Gless, Burn Notice

Christina Hendricks, Mad Men

Elizabeth Moss, Mad Men

Archie Panjabi, The Good Wife

What a completely awesome category this is.  I love Elizabeth Moss from her days as Zoe Bartlett.   While I don’t watch Mad Men, I remember Christina Hendricks happily from her guest appearance on my favorite episode of Firefly.  (And I’m pretty sure last year all the women from Mad Men were shut out, so I’m happy to see the trio get their due.) Sharon Gless is always good fun.  And Christine Baranski?  What is not to love about Christine Baranski?  Even in a drama, the women still has the drollest delivery on tv.  But Archie Panjabi?  Now, maybe Emmy will go with a vet like Gless or Baranski, or be knocked over by Hendrickson’s va va voom, but how fricking cool would it be if they went with sensational newcomer Panjabi instead?  Really fricking cool.  Rose Byrne is the only one whose work I’m not familiar with.  So even though I really want Panjabi to win, I almost feel like I can’t lose, because these women are genuinely so inspiring to me.

And as for the Hosts of Reality Competition Programming category?  Much as I like some of you, I can only say it again.  What fools are these for not nominating Cat Deeley?  A pox on all your houses!  Don’t you people want to know what she’d wear, for heaven’s sake?

Oh well.  Normally I’d be celebrating the night in my usual style – chocolate covered strawberries – but this year M and C and I will all be recovering from a little party we’re throwing to celebrate our parents wedding anniversary.  So it will be with a relieved and thankful heart that I come to this glitz and glamor party, and it I get to celebrate more stuff I think is excellent (in addition to my parents) that’s just icing on the cake.

One comment on “Emmy Awards: Who Do We Like?

  1. Of course Steve Carrell on The Office….Too hilarious

Leave a Reply

