SAG: TV Nominations and (my) Reactions

E: May I begin by saying how much I hate that they don’t do have supporting categories in the SAG tv awards?  Some years, a supporting player sneaks in, and that’s supposed to happen, but just you look below and tell me about it.  Lots of good people are not on this list, y’all.  You just can’t fit them all!  And honestly.  Let’s face it.  Supporting characters are often way more fun and interesting and exciting than the leads.  Writers can be riskier with supporting characters.  They don’t have to care so much about always being likable.

Also?  Most of their choices? I have one word.

Boring.  Well.  Maybe 2.  Boring and expected.

Actor:

Simon Baker, The Mentalist
Brian Cranston, Breaking Bad
Michael C. Hall, Dexter
John Hamm, Mad Men
Hugh Laurie, House

Now here’s a list that’s so unique, so intriguing, highlighting such unusual and brilliant performances… Oh.  Wait.  This is almost exactly the same list as the Golden Globes.  Swap out Brian Cranston for Bill Paxton, and you’ve got the same guys.  Oh.

Now that I see it, though, it occurs to me that it was a little odd of the HFP to ignore Cranston, who has won almost every award in the book for his role as the cancer ridden high school science teacher turned meth maker/dealer.  Oh well.  It’s not as if the space on Cranston’s mantel is lacking or anything.

Actress:
Patricia Arquette, Medium
Glenn Close, The Closer
Mariska Hargitay, Law & Order SVU
Holly Hunter, Saving Grace
Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
Kyra Sedgwick, The Closer

SAG bumped this category up to 6 nominees so they could keep all the usual suspects and include Julianna Margulies (a familiar nominee and 6 time winner from her days on ER). Heaven knows we wouldn’t want to offend Mariska Hargitay by leaving her off the list once, would we!  Okay, maybe I have a bee in my bonnet about Hargitay.  I drew a little fire for knocking her Emmy nomination.  Now, I have a fondness for her that dates back to her own days on ER.  It’s not personal.  It’s partly that I’m sick of the same names every year (and look them up, they are the same names).  I don’t get her particularly, though, because I have a lot of trouble believing that role really gives her that much to work with her.  And what’s her partner, Christopher Meloni, chopped liver?  Why is she always nominated and he never is?

Anyway, I’m pleased that there are shows like The Closer and Damages and The Good Wife and Medium that revolve around women and get critical acclaim, even if it’s always the same several shows and performances.  Margulies for the win!

Ensemble:
The Closer
Dexter
The Good Wife
Man Men
True Blood

YES!  Thank you, SAG!  Thanks for including my favorite new show.  It’ll probably lose to Mad Men (and perhaps deservedly so; I don’t watch MM so I can’t say) but I’m still really pleased about it.

Actress, Comedy

Christina Applegate, Samantha Who

Toni Collette, United States of Tara

Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie

Tina Fey, 30 Rock

Julia Louis Dreyfuss, The New Adventures of Old Christine

All the usual suspects here.  It’s probably the same list as last year, minus Edie Falco for Nurse Jackie, and I almost don’t count her because she’s been a perpetual nominee for The Sopranos.  Awards groups, they love them some Edie.

Anyhoo, this list is perfectly fine.  SAG is not so eager to embrace new folk as the HFP; note the absense of Glee‘s Lea Michele.  Like I said, we can’t really count Edie as new even if it’s a new role.  Although given that I suppose it’s surprising that there’s no love for Patricia Richardson (The Middle) or Courtney Cox (Cougar Town).  I guess one new show was too much for them?  Here’s a case, btw, where lovely supporting players could have shown up; I understand Wanda Sykes is hilarious on TNAoOC.  Since I don’t watch sitcoms, I couldn’t tell you for sure.  There’s no love for any of the Modern Family ladies, either – and since that’s a true ensemble, all the players are supporting instead of traditional leads.  So, does Tina Fey go back to her domination, or does Toni Collette build on her Emmy win?  Only time will tell…

Actor, Comedy
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Steve Carell, The Office
Larry David, Curb Your Enthusiasm
Tony Shaloub, Monk
Charlie Sheen, Two and a Half Men

Want to hear something exciting?  Monk has been canceled, so next year everyone’s going to have to pick someone new for the Comedy male list!  Woohoo!  Not that I even knew the show was still airing new episodes when I heard it had been canceled.  Baldwin has been on quite the winning streak lately, so he might be the favorite.  Unless of course Shaloub gets a pity vote.  Excuse me while I go sigh in the corner for Zachary Levi.  (And you know, if you were really serious about this ‘no supporting’ business, you could have proved it by nominating Adam Baldwin, who is one of the funniest people on television.  Just because you don’t think of Chuck as boyfriend material, SAG, doesn’t mean he’s not a good time.)

Ensemble
30 Rock
Curb
Glee
Modern Family
The Office

Two new shows.  That’s sort of exciting.  Entourage is snubbed for Modern Family, and I’d say the critics will be pleased with that; the HBO show seems to be losing it’s luster, and everyone is crazy about Modern Family.  Except, you know, me.  I AM happy to see new blood here.  Of course, the comedies I like the most – Ugly Betty and Chuck – remain un-nominated.  Now, fine, I can see that Ugly Betty was on a creative downslide last year and since the show started so late (early November?) SAG might not yet know how fantastic it’s been so far this season.  And yes, Chuck won’t start up until January.  I’m not taking excuses for that one, though.   You’ve got a big black mark, folks, for ignoring Chuck. Correct that mistake!

Actor, Miniseries:
Kevin Bacon, Taking Chance
Cuba Gooding, Jr., Gifted Hands
Jeremy Irons, Georgia O’Keefe
Kevin Kline, Cyrano de Bergerac
Tom Wilkinson, A Number

All good actors (nice to see you doing good work again, Cuba, and proving that your Oscar wasn’t a total fluke).  Lifetime does well again with Georgia O’Keefe biopic.  Nice.  Never thought I’d be sorry I missed out on a Lifetime movie!  But no one from Little Dorrit?  We do NOT approve.

Actress, Miniseries
Joan Allen, Georgia O’Keefe
Drew Barrymore, Grey Gardens
Ruby Dee, America
Jessica Lange, Grey Gardens
Sigourney Weaver, Prayers for Bobby

More of the same, but all great actresses.  SAG loves Ruby Dee and so do I.  Not that I think she has a chance against Jessica Lange, mind you, but I’m still pleased for her.  Heck, at her age just making it to the set is a triumph, let alone continuing to do fantastic work!  Still not a fan of the PBS freeze out, though.

8 comments on “SAG: TV Nominations and (my) Reactions

  1. Anne says:

    If you criticize because they are always the same names because it speaks of Kira Sedgwick that is always being displayed and speaks Mariska Hargitay.Mariska is a great, talented actress and deserves any indicação.Assim does not, is discrimination.

    • E says:

      I’m not saying that Mariska isn’t a terrific actress, or that Kira Sedgewick hasn’t been nominated many times. I singled out Hargitay’s role; most of the others carry shows on their own, which is at least an understandably laudable feat. But sure, I’m as annoyed about all of them, even though I do think they’re all good actresses.

      • Jov says:

        I think that Mariska not only deserves to be nominated each and every year, but she also deserves to win! She is the best, and svu is a terrific show.

  2. Frances says:

    Mariska is not guilty if Cris Melloni is never shown. I think if she could, would indicate. I think not only Mariska, but Cris also deserves a nomination.

  3. Mickey says:

    Hes not popular in Hollywood. She is, for obvious reasons.

  4. Rosaura says:

    Regret that Cris Melloni has not been nominated for the SAG or any other win, because he deserves for his enormous talent. You can not assign any blame to the fact Mariska Hargitay.Mariska and Cris are great friends and there is no rivalry between the dois.Se she is more popular than him, the problem is not dela.Mas understand that the issue is not pupularidade and yes talent. Mariska has a talent that leaps to the eyes of anyone and such statement is unambiguous. Now Cris, despite the talent, has been supplanted by other actors even more talented..

  5. Ana Carol says:

    I do not understand because they think it strange to any indication Melloni.Ele is a struggling actor, but do not know if the character, so it has done in recent years does not deserve any premio.Tem actor doing something much better than him. Mariska she’s talented but what I have called more attention in these last two seasons is its beauty. With big hair Mariska, who was already beautiful, it was beautiful. And she is a woman very sexy. Genes are speaking louder.

Leave a Reply

