So You Think…

M: My wife and I were watching this week’s episode of So You Think You Can Dance (or, in my translation of the theme music, Ba-da-ba-ba…summa-numma-numma-DANCE!).  I enjoy the show, probably as much for the comedic value as I do for watching the actual dancing, which is often times really cool, and other times REALLY odd and displayes the enormous egos of the choreographers.  Plus, as E said in her post about it, Cat Deeley is fantastic as a host, she is everything that Dancing With The Stars’ Samantha Harris is not, though Harris is entertaining in a train wreck, can’t avert your eyes kind of way.

Watching this week’s episode, and one performance in particular, however, was very, very different than my usual viewing experience with the show.  In this piece, dancers Melissa and Ada performed a dance choreographed by Tyce Diorio as a tribute to a friend of his who is battling breast cancer.  The performance was one of those moments that is simply perfect, capturing exactly what it intended to, and taking a show to a level far beyond any expectation.  It brought the choreographer, dancers, judges, the audience, my wife, and even me to tears.  At this point in time it is difficult to not have someone close to you who is impacted by cancer, and I was watching it having just come home from seeing a friend who has recently lost his wife, the mother of his four children, to cancer.  The timing for my tear ducts couldn’t have been worse, but the timing for the impact of the piece was perfect, as His timing always is.

There are many reasons why we watch TV and movies, read books, and listen to music.  They entertain us, make us laugh, take us to magical places in our imagination, make us forget about things…  and sometimes make us remember.  They can touch our emotions in ways that at times they need to be touched.

Here are the links to the dance and reactions.  I dare you not to cry.

This entry was posted in TV.

3 comments on “So You Think…

  1. Christine says:

    I love So You Think You Can Dance! I agree that Cat is a fantastic host; she has so much energy. The music from Tyce’s piece was what really caught me emotionally, although the choreography was spectacular and the dancing was also great. I don’t think either Melissa or Ade should win the show and I think this particular dance gave them an undeserved boost. Janette and Jason should not have been the ones going home on Thursday, and in fact, I think Janette should have won the whole thing.

    • E says:

      I’d say the same of Jeanine and Jason’s piece from last week – they were saved by being given extraordinary and memorable choreography. And Janette was cursed, this week, with two less than memorable routines. Even though she was great in them, they didn’t stand out on their own.

      I’m shocked and sorry she went home, though. I thought she had a great shot at winning. Now I wonder if it’s going to be Evan, the only person to escape the bottom so far?

  2. Christine says:

    My husband and I definitely think Evan is going to win!

Leave a Reply

