And They Have A Plan

A few weeks ago, I was chatting with my brother M in a strip mall parking lot where we met up so I could give him the car seat our sister accidentally drove to Connecticut (don’t ask), and said, you know, I’m thinking about finally starting that entertainment blog.

Oh, he replied, you and C and I should do that together. That’d be awesome.

And I had to admit that yes, it totally would.

See, friends of mine have been saying for years that I should channel my obsession with the Oscars, with film and tv and books and whatnot, into a blog – possibly so they would be spared my voluminous emails on the subject. (I kid! I kid!) And I don’t object to the idea. I’m a big idea person. I tend to get really intimidated about starting projects, though. Call it stage fright or writers block, I’ve got it. It’s not for nothing that my college admissions essay was about the terror of writing a college admission essay. So having co-contributors would take the pressure off me, at least a bit. That isn’t the most exciting reason to do a blog with my beloved siblings, though.

See, for people who not only love but also like each other, my brother and sister and I really like to fight.

Family dinner, when we have it, can be a full on jousting match. We’re highly competitive and we all pretty much like the sound of our own voices. We’re all looking for the advantage, looking for the best rhetorical line, for the way to beat the others into complete submission. Now, you probably wouldn’t want to hear us talking politics, but when it comes to books and tv and movies and the like, we have great fun speculating on the finer points of a plot line, abusing writers where we think they’re being untrue to characters, and praising them when they’ve fooled us. In other words, we can disagree – at times loudly and vociferously – without actually getting mad at each other. And we have a great time doing it, so much so that we tend to call each other after a show airs to find out what the others think.

We do actually have quite a bit in common. All three of us are down with the nerdy classics: Star Wars, Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, Lord of the Rings, Indiana Jones, X-Men and The X-Files. We get our geek on with regularity. We’re also all fans of Chuck, Alias, Lost, Veronica Mars, and, of course, The Princess Bride. We love a good plot and witty dialog. We like smart characters, thrilling adventures and shocking twists (though we’re pretty hard to shock). We all love classic film and Disney/Pixar. “Where’d we see that actor” is one of our favorite games; we’re good enough at that to alarm most observers. Then there are other things we like in pairs: C and I glory in romantic costume drama and English mysteries, while our brother prefers his costume dramas to involve riffles, ships or swords. (We like those, too; we’re just also big fans of, say, Jane Austen and Elizabeth Gaskell, while he, well, isn’t.) I mean, come on. We’re girls. We were both English majors. It’s to be expected. Oh. We love Harry Potter and kiddie lit, too.

M and I, on the other hand, both enjoy the kind of reality competitions which involve actual skills, like Top Chef and So You Think You Can Dance. And we have a reservoir of nostalgic favorites like Moonlighting which C is too much younger to have experienced fully. M and C are fans of The Office (Steve Carrell’s character makes me squirm, despite the overwhelming cuteness of Jim and Pam.) and Farscape, and are much better at actually watching things when they air; I’m a bit dvr challenged that way, but hope to improve for the purposes of this blog.

If you are brave enough to stick around as we embark on this online adventure, we hope to offer you a few things. We’ll talk about what makes us passionate, what we’ve seen and read and maybe in some instances heard. We’re spoiler averse, so if we’re going to have a discussion about an ongoing series, we’ll make sure you know what you’re getting into before you read it. We have about the same opinion of celebrity gossip as we do of slasher flicks; we don’t need to see people flayed apart like that. You’ll get to know more about our individual likes and dislikes (who’s the weeper, who’s the grammar police, what do we think of vampires or Lauren Graham) and hopefully will be able to see and take part in smart and substantive debates on the fine art of entertainment. We hope to meet new friends, talk more with old ones, and generally have a great time. We think that together, we have more to offer than any of us alone; our shared passions and our unique sensibilities add up to our own family brand of zesty oddness. We hope you’re up for it.

And – phew! – with that, we’ve started!

Best regards,

E

PS – M, I will be very disappointed if you don’t make a crack about C driving the car seat to Connecticut rather than her car. I left the bait in just for you.

12 comments on “And They Have A Plan

  1. Chet says:

    and there are many copies?

    well, good luck!

    • E says:

      There are! 🙂 Seven, between M and I. And I suppose that, if you count C and our spouses, that would make us the final five. Nice.

      I hope you’ll tune in – you were there for some of our epic arguments of the past. 🙂 And lots of everyday bickering. It’d be like old times.

      Hope all’s well!

  2. C says:

    I am looking forward to this. We’ve become rather too polite in our old age – bring on the bickering!

    C

  3. Krizzzz says:

    No point making the “car seat” quip now that you’ve made it. =)

    Who’s the grammar police? Fellow grammar snobs want to know. (Or would that be spoilerish?)

    Happy quibbling!

    • C says:

      I was going to say that I’m the grammar police, but M does love to catch either of us out if he can. E is the sloppiest grammarian, though you wouldn’t think it of her!

  4. E says:

    Hee hee hee – the grammar police tends to be M, actually. It fills him with fiendish glee to catch either sister in a mistake.

    (And yes, perhaps it was unfair of me to make the joke for him.)

    • M says:

      Well, as a Math geek growing up in a house with two english major sisters, any time I was the one that knew the correct grammar was an opportunity that I couldn’t pass up!

      And I couldn’t make the car seat joke after it was pointed out, that just wouldn’t be right.

  5. Pam says:

    congrats on doing this finally!
    do you always have to take turns posting or can you write as the Muse inspires?

  6. M says:

    ok, so this is not M… it is his adoring wife, S. Cannot figure out how to get my own login without actually being a blogger myself. Just wanted to say that I am excited and proud of the 3 of you. You each have such individual personality and character. Each really does compliment and contrast the others well. So, write on..

Leave a Reply

